I was standing. You were there.

motivator6672851.jpg

Next week on the Hour, George visits the set of Corrie. You know, even though one broadcasts the other, my much loved CBC world and my much loved Corrie world tend to exist independently of each other, like two parallel universes. I watched Strombo for years on The New Music, then Much, now the CBC. And similarly, watched Corrie. But these were two things I never imagined co-existing together.

For that reason, my mind is having difficulty processing this image. Next thing you know, Rex Murphy will be visiting the set of Doctor Who.

That’s when my head will explode.

About shatnerian

Former Maritimer living in the suburbs of Montreal.
This entry was posted in CBC and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I was standing. You were there.

  1. Pixie says:

    two worlds colliding…

    I love that Roy Cropper!

  2. CorrieLoverUSA says:

    As stated over in Corrie Blog, George does not seem to be a true Corrie fan or even tries to understand it.Maybe he justs pretneds to enjoy Corrie just to get a free trip over there.Yeah, his little hairy patch bugs me….he is a good interviewer and I will watch this program.But darnit CBC….send a real fan next time….preferably one of us!

  3. robswizzle says:

    George looks like another shady Alahan cousin in that photo.

  4. geenee says:

    LOL. He could be related! I don’t think he really gets what fans see in Corrie and I wish they would take the fan who won the contest to the interviews to ask the questions. He did a good job with Johnny Briggs but not so well with Fizz.

  5. Glacia says:

    John, Snuffleupagus lives in my hood – last week we saw him running around Queen street dressed – really – like an elf. When you come to visit Toronto we’ll go Snuffleupagus spotting.

    Or maybe, like Big Bird, I’m the only one who can see him.

  6. debbie says:

    I see him all the time and he does a really good job of pulling his Strombo face all over the place. Everytime I see him on TV I feel like I am trapped in a room with an long-winded ageing hipster.

    He has actually said on his show that he doesn’t watch the street. Although, I really don’t care if he is a Street fan. I don’t think it matters. If he can do his job well and interview people then he doesn’t need to love the show, he just needs to do the research and pull off a good interview.

  7. John says:

    It’s the same as any interview subject. You don’t expect any interviewer to have an in depth knowledge of the person they’re interviewing. They just need to be engaged with the subject.

    Actually, I know he gets a lot of ribbing about his interview style but Strombo conducted what ranked as one of my favourite celebrity interviews of all time.

    It was an episode of the New Music devoted to a supposed resurging popularity of hair metal. George was talking with Sebastian Bach, formerly of Skid Row, who was then the lead in a stage musical version of the Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde story. George also asked about Poison, to which Bach took offense, asserting that Skid Row was a far better and more serious metal band than Poison. One could not seriously compare “18 and Life” to “Unskinny Bop.”

    Bach then tore off his clip-on microphone and stormed out of the interview, stating “I don’t need to talk about this old shit. I’m a Broadway star now!”

  8. S. Poole says:

    Strombo is a mixtape!

    Anyone been to this event?

    http://www.thestar.com/entertainment/article/304280

    I wonder where one would procure 1 oz of vodka to make the Caesar?

  9. arphpeck says:

    I have actually seen Strombo do one good interview – his friend Raine from Our Lady Peace. He knew the subject and didn’t keep interrupting to tell his opinion of the question he had just asked. all he needs is a good dose of get-over-yourself and he could be almost regularly watchable.

Leave a Reply

