How Coronation Street Saved Canadian Culture

Last night I watched a biography on Mary Walsh and she retold the tale of how she got into showbiz.

Apparently many moons ago she was sitting on her aunt’s couch watching Coronation Street (which she mentioned that she loves) and on came an ad from the CBC asking for hosts of a new local program.   She went down the CBC and bada-bing bada-boom she ends up hosting her own show, which leads to CODCO which leads to 22 Minutes which leads to Canadian comedy history.

This entry was posted in Coronation Street Updates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How Coronation Street Saved Canadian Culture

  1. missusmac says:

    I love Mary Walsh. Both my brother and his wife worked for production in 22 Minutes when Mary was on the show.

    An incredibly talented lady!

  2. geenee says:

    That show has never been as good since she left. I wish she and Rick had stayed. Loved the 2 little old ladies’ comments at the end and Marg Delahunty, Marg warior princess, etc.

  3. debbie1975 says:

    I too, loved Mary. She is pretty awesome. I lived in Halifax when she was on the show. It was that show’s heyday, really.

    We lived in the same neighbourhood – well, I guessed that we did because I saw her at the corner store “The Big General.” I also saw her at Point Pleasant park.

    By all accounts she is a DIVA! I knew a writer from the show, and when she didn’t get her way, she started cursing and pounding on the table and then she’d get right on the table.

Leave a Reply

