Monday August 4th 2008 – The Oh You Poor Daft Cow Update

UK Time: Monday November 5th 2007 – Episode 2

Hands up if you have mixed emotions for Sally Webster. I think she’s an idiot. I think she’s immature. I think she’s kind of pathetic. But, I also love her. I think she tries to be sensitive. I think she is even tempered. I think she is lots of fun especially after a bottle of chardonnay. Wildly ambitious, but perpetually frustrated, Sally has always considered herself to be better than the hordes on the cobbles. I think it comes from an inferiority complex masquerading as a superiority complex. I don’t know too much about her but from what I have gleaned over the years, it seems that Sally may have been dragged up rather than brought up and has a dog rough background. Strangely, Sally’s past isn’t spelled out anywhere except that we know that it wasn’t pretty. Talk about a character with potential. The complexity and slight sadness of her personality is that she also feels superior to Kevin, but thinks less of him because he loves her. Deep down Sally is running from the sinking feeling that she really is no good. Maybe this is why social ambition looks brash on her while the same looks endearing on Vera Duckworth and somehow justified on Ken Barlow.

Anyway, this is just one woman’s opinion on Sally, you may disagree, think I’m crazy or feel that I am giving her way too much credit. But, if there is one thing we all can agree on it is that Sally Webster is totally delusional. How else can one explain what went on with her and John Stape last night. Seriously folks it was painful to watch. There sat Sally in her dining room looking at John and confessing that not only does she have feelings for him but she actually thought they had a connection. It was just plain madness. Her crush went from kinda of cute to just down right pathetic.

At least John was respectful and kind … at first. He looked at her and explained that he has a partner and she is married. He is her teacher and she is her student. But, the main problem here is that Sally isn’t a hot-to-trot 16 year-old girl because if she was then it would be game on.

Sally got a little emotional just in time for Rosie to flounce through the door. Sally escaped upstairs and John asked Rosie if she could make herself scarce. This drew the same scowl previously perfected by the murderous Tracey Barlow. Oh Rosie!

Sally and John talked more and decided that it was time the lessons stopped. Sally is gutted but she knows it is for the best. Afterward John ups his sleaze level by lying to Fiz about why he has stopped the lessons. Why not make this as beneficial to him as possible?

Later, while Weatherfield watched Sarah’s wedding dress go up in smoke on the Morton’s Guy Fawkes bonfire, Rosie heads over to the school to carry on with John. Than in one of the biggest dick moves in the history of dick moves, he tells her about Sally’s crush. Rosie plays to his ego and John lets her.

Later that night Rosie heads home and this is where I really start to dislike her. She basically tried to get her mother to admit that she had a crush of John and really rubs the whole situation in Sally’s face. It was pretty nasty.

In the Platt world Jason lost Sarah’s wedding dress – well, David took it and binned it. And the Morton kids used it for their Guy Fawkes bonfire. Awesome. They even won a prize.

I gotta tell you that when Jason was talking to Becky in the café, I really liked them together. I also like that she flirts with him so obviously. I love that she openly finds Jason a turn-on.

In Other News:

Jody and Lloyd take his son Finley to the hospital because something got in his eye. Jerry behaves like Jody should have been watching the kids when it is her night off.

This entry was posted in Coronation Street Updates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Monday August 4th 2008 – The Oh You Poor Daft Cow Update

  1. Mandy says:

    UGH, Jason and Becky?! Sorry, I don’t MIND Becky’s character so much anymore, but she’s still so coarse and abraisive. And classless. Sure, Sarah can be a bitch sometimes, but Becky? Jason could do a lot better than that. He HAS a lot better than that.

  2. geenee says:

    I don’t think Sally ever felt the same about Kevin since he left her for Natalie. They seem to be together mainly because of the girls and she really thinks she could do better than Kev. I don’t know about him but he seems to like the family to come home to rather than being single. It’s dating hell out there so the 2 of them are together for now. She has always been the ambitious one and had to nag him into buying the garage. He just wants a quiet life and a few pints in the Rovers.

    John let her down nicely so we have to give him credit for that, but it was rotten to tell Rosie, who already knows about Ian and won’t have much respect for her mother now.

    Jerry was being his usual unreliable self and I wouldn’t be surprised if Jodie finally takes off – and it’s about time.

  3. whitehorsefan says:

    Good insight into Sally’s character, Debbie. I do think that Sally and Kevin genuinely care for each other, but Sally’s daliances (or attempted daliances) are like the rest of her life- always thinking that she hasn’t done as well as she could, and thinking that being connected to wealth (Ian) or education (John) will raise her out of the muck somehow.

    I like watching her with her daughters, too. She really wants to connect and do right by them, and truly loves them. But, if it means making a bad choice with regards to them in order to save her skin, she will do it.

    Re: Becky and Jason. I love Becky and think Jason would be lucky to have her. On paper it seems like an odd choice, but it works really well when you see them together. Unlike Liam and Maria, who would seem like a good couple, but only make me yawn.

  4. John says:

    I agree with what you say about Sally. She’s… complicated, isn’t she?

    I recall the time Sally took Kevin to her cousin’s house in her old neighbourhood. She expected the grotty place she grew up in but instead found a waterfront condo development for yuppies. The cousins ended up throwing her and Kevin (still in his greasy overalls) out of their place because Sally was incredibly rude to them. Apparently, she bore a grudge against that end of the family for decades for some unstated mistreatment. She expected to find her white trash family but ended having her cousins think of her in exactly the way she thought of them.

    Ultimately, I think she just wants what’s best for her kids, even if it can be misguded at times. She wants her daughters to have the chances she didn’t have in her childhood. But what I think she really wants is that her children are not judged the way she thinks she was judged.

  5. Michigander Fan says:

    It was last night when my misgivings and dislike for John crystallized into a white hot heat. I don’t often feel like hard drinking on a Monday night, but last night was one of those times. (Of course, the fact that I had a crap day didn’t help.)

    I started yelling when he said, “But you’re my student.” (As if there’s some watchdog group that goes after tutors who take advantage of middle aged housewives who want to study for their A Levels.)

    I yelled even louder when he did the passive aggressive thing with Fizz.

    Then, when he told Rosie about Sally’s crush, I really lost it. Hate him, hate him, hate him.

    GRRR.

  6. Michigander Fan says:

    Debbie,

    I love your comments about Sally. I like Sally. She’s actually a reasonable person most of the time, and her character flaws are very real. Kinda Hyacinth Bucket, actually. Sure, she can be a pain in the patoot sometimes, but mostly she’s fun.

    As far as Jodie goes – I’m beginning to wonder if that house doesn’t have a poltergeist or something. First you have the Harrises, then you have Tracy and Charlie, and I think perhaps we are about to find Jerry with his head stove in.

    I thought the wedding dress thing was a little ridiculous. First, I stand by what I said about Kayleigh being old enough to know better. Secondly, why did no one see it until it was too late? Third, Jason doesn’t have the money to move out of Gail’s but he has the money to replace a wedding dress for a wedding that’s over?

    Uh-uh.

    MF

  7. whitehorsefan says:

    “First, I stand by what I said about Kayleigh being old enough to know better.”

    Indeed, MF, but you are making the fatal mistake of thinking that she would care.

    I haven’t seen last night’s episode, but after Friday’s episode I also anticipated ridiculousness with the wedding dress. Yes, David is crazy. Yes, Sarah is being pushed over the edge. Yes, David is interfering with Sarah’s relationship with her family and husband. We get it.

  8. Michigander Fan says:

    Whitehorse,

    Excellent point. I would have cared at that age. I would have gone out of my way to figure out who it belonged to and return it.

    But on the other hand, I also wasn’t pulling scams with Gramps down at the Quickie Mart.

    MF

  9. geenee says:

    Maybe after the wine stains and being crumpled up in a bag, the dress didn’t look that great and young teens are kind of self-centered anyway. The kids probably didn’t even think about where it came from since they weren’t at the wedding.

  10. pip says:

    I don’t understand why Jodie and Lloyd went to the emergency room with Finlay and Jerry. Finlay’s injury is obviously minor, so there wasn’t any need for them to be there, they could have just carried on with their date once Finlay was in Jerry’s care. I stand by my previous point that deep down Jodie thinks she is the only one who can look after the kids, even when she expects Jerry to take a turn. Poor Lloyd, you have to admire him for sticking it out with Jodie.

    While I admire Sally for wanting what’s best for her kids (which in her mind translates to being upwardly mobile), I feel sorry for her not realizing that her Kevin is a gem in the rough. He’s good natured, funny, easy on the eyes, hardworking and makes a decent (though not exceptional wage), devoted to his wife and family. What more does she want? She wants to be 16 again, imho. She wants the opportunities she’s making sure Rosie has, and she feels overburdened by her duties as wife and mother and unappreciated to boot (Kevin also feels unappreciated, but he takes it in stride, and realizes that most teenagers are self-centered and demanding). In some ways Sally is ‘everywoman’, so we sympathize with her despite her faults.

    As for John, what an aboslute sleaze. The fact that he hasn’t been struck by a lightning bolt from God just proves God doesn’t exist. I’d best let Richard Dawkins know.

  11. Michigander Fan says:

    Pip said: I feel sorry for her not realizing that her Kevin is a gem in the rough. He’s good natured, funny, easy on the eyes, hardworking and makes a decent (though not exceptional wage), devoted to his wife and family. What more does she want?

    Amen! She can give him to me if she doesn’t appreciate him!

  12. Michigander Fan says:

    Pip said: As for John, what an aboslute sleaze. The fact that he hasn’t been struck by a lightning bolt from God just proves God doesn’t exist. I’d best let Richard Dawkins know.

    Hahahaha. Just remember though, God’s time is not our time – John Snake will get what’s coming to him. Rest assured.

    One of the things I love about soaps is that eventually, everybody gets payback. If only it were guaranteed in real life.

    MF

  13. Gayle says:

    Pip, my husband and I were saying the exact same thing about going to the Emergency Room. The injury certainly didn’t seem that serious. But maybe in England the wait times aren’t very long. My son went to emergency department on Sunday and waited 41/2 hours which is quick in our city.

    I also agree about Kevin, he is a lovely bloke and is really devoted to his family.

  14. eps says:

    RE: Sally – do not like the new hair style and noticed a lot of wrinkles in the close-ups during that painful scene with John. Superficial, I know.

    I had forgotten the visit to the cousins. Thanks for the brief visit to Memory Lane.

    EPS

  15. geenee says:

    Lovely, perfect Kevin is the man who cheated on her with Natalie while Sal was away looking after her sick mother. She has never felt the same about him since then. Up until then, she was a good little wife and mother, lovingly preparing fish fingers or beans on toast so they could afford to buy a partnership in the garage. Kevin drove me crazy back then, going between the two women and couldn’t make up his mind which he wanted. He eventually moved in with Natalie and Sally moved in with Les’s son – the abusive swine. I really liked the guy from the market and wished they had stayed together.

    I’m superficial too and noticed the wrinkles; also didn’t like the hair style.

  16. missusmac says:

    The flipped up ‘do was to represent the new, younger Sally, I think.

    If you took what John said to Sally, and totally erased any knowledge of his kaboinking Rosie, he’d sound quite reasonable, lovely and nice, wouldn’t he?

    But no, he’s swine on a stick.

    I want a t-shirt that reads Team Kevin. Yeah, he went with Natalie, but unlike Sally, he never got paid to be with Natalie. That whole Ian/Sally set up was gruesome.

  17. Gayle says:

    missusmac, I agree the Sally/Ian thing was disgusting, she was nothing more than a prostitute. It was SO UNBELIEVABLE, a huge car dealership when they would be the only staff present? Sally was not remotely qualified for the job. I was so glad when it wrapped up.

    The Ian/Sally storyline, the Martin/Katie/murder story and the Charlie/Shelley saga in my humble opinion were the worst of the worst.

  18. Joy says:

    Margaret, please don’t post spoilers!

  19. debbie1975 says:

    Sorry Margaret,

    I removed your comment due to the spoiler.

    Let’s all be careful about those.

    debbie

  20. geenee says:

    Granted, Kevin never got paid to be with Natalie, but there was a business connection and he eventually bought her share. She did pursue him relentlessly for “just a bit of fun.” I loved Sally’s revenge when she dumped the beauty products in the sink and let it overflow. Wonder if they ever found the cat? Sal cared about Kevin then but doesn’t seem to have much respect for him anymore.

    I agree that the Charley/Shelley, Martin/Katy storylines were some of the worst – mainly because they went on too long, and that Katy really got on my nerves. The commercial that really bugs me is that stupid woman nagging her husband to taste the yogurt in the exciting part of the game he’s watching. If I were him, she’d get it shoved in her face – though I deplore violence!

  21. DarkEmpress says:

    @ Whitehorsefan,

    I think that the reason that Becky could go well with Jason is because she is the only person who doesn’t make him feel like he is stupid.

    I wonder how long it will take for them to figure out that Demon Seed took the dress…. or maybe he will convince Dev’s daughter not to say anything… she does have a inexplicable crush on him.

    I never liked Sally! She has this annoying whining way of talking that grates on my nerves. My favourite character is Eileen, in part because of her jokes about Sally and Gail.

Leave a Reply

