Update – August 6, 2008 – In Flanders Field, the Poppies Grow…

Sean and Violet

Sean is trying to make amends with Violet for declaring the sex of her baby to all and sundry. He protests the suspense was killing him but Violet simply counters and that he and Markus are a disgrace.

Later, Jamie is trying to play the peacemaker between the two when Kelly asks if Violet has thought of any names. Violet sarcastically replies that she’ll leave that to Sean who, if she’s lucky will allow her to attend the birth of her son.

Later in the cafe, Roy is telling Jamie and Violet about Hayley’s work in Mozambique and how proud he is of her. Violet wonders if everyone in Mozambique knows about the sex of her baby.

For those of you keeping score at home:

PEOPLE WHO KNEW VIOLET WAS HAVING A BOY BEFORE VIOLET

  • Markus
  • Sean
  • Jamie
  • Jason
  • The staff of Underworld
  • Mozambique (population 21,397,000)

Violet gets increasingly angry at Markus for revealing the sex to Sean. Markus meets up with Violet outside the Rovers where she threatens to take him before the tribunal.

Later, Sean finally tells Violet that he tricked Markus into revealing the sex of the baby. Violets relents that she won’t do anything to Markus but Sean is still on her Shit List.

Later, they talk about things and Sean apologises but says it’s the most exciting thing to even happen to him. Violet takes offense at this and tells him this is happening to her. She also tells him that this is her son, not his and that he should stop hijacking her pregnancy.

‘I want you to BACK OFF!” she says, “I will decide how much time, if any, you get to spend with my son, all right? Drop the proud father routine, Sean, because you’re the donor! End of.’

Which is exactly what my wife’s been telling me these past 8 months.

Seriously though, Sean did say that he would be as uninvolved with the child as Violet wants him to be so he does bear some responsibilty here. That said, he’s Sean, and, as my wife says, unless Violet had him sign something legal, he does indeed have a right to be involved with his son.

In Other News

John is moving in with Fizz and Maria because Maria keeps spending the rent money. In a scene cut from the CBC broadcast, there was also more flirting between him and Rosie.

Sarah is now going to work two jobs so she and Jason can move out of Gail’s.

Lloyd and Jodie would have broken up if that whole thing ever achieved liftoff.

Claire wants better furniture in the cab office. This plot was already done when she brought in a new chair intended to replace Steve’s old threadbare one, which never did leave.

There was some stuff about Doreen and Norris but honestly, I wasn’t paying close attention.

AND NOW A SPECIAL MESSAGE FROM CORONATION STREET

Emily is selling poppies for the Royal Legion as it’s two days before Remembrance Day. Lloyd buys one (he and Emily both had relatives in the rifle brigade. My great-uncle was in the infantry) and mentions some hippie in the local bookshop was trying to sell him a white poppy. Emily thinks their intentions are good, but misguided as the poppy is red to symbolise bloodshed. It does not glorify war, but simply remembers those who died. Lloyd agrees and reckons white poppies are like tofu bacon – just wrong.

It was an odd scene and kind of shoehorned in there. Normally, the writers don’t come right out and take a stand like that (the white vs. red poppy was the subject of some controversy in the UK and Canada a while back).

One thing I’d like to see, however, is showing actual remembrance on November 11th. One thing I like about the show is that stories tend to converge around the holidays like Christmas and even Guy Fawkes. I’d like to see an actual wreath laying or something along those lines on November 11th. I think it would be a nice touch.

About shatnerian

Former Maritimer living in the suburbs of Montreal.
This entry was posted in Coronation Street Updates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Update – August 6, 2008 – In Flanders Field, the Poppies Grow…

  1. Kerry says:

    I’ll bet there would have been a wreath laying scene if Percy was still around.

    P.S. British Poppies are so much cooler looking than ours.

  2. Michigander Fan says:

    Ah, John, you forgot – Eileen and Todd were present when Sean let it slip as well.

    I’m not crazy about Violet, and considering she was allowing him to come to her sonigrams originally, it kind of seems like she gave him some false expectations. Plus I remember the drunk “let’s have a baby if we’re still single” episode, and she definitely talked about what a great FATHER he would be. That said, she’s bang on about Sean behaving selfishly (and then begging forgiveness afterwards). It is a character flaw of his.

    You know, for once, I don’t mind the CBC cutting a scene. They can cut every scene where Rosie and Snake flirt, smooch, etc.

    Poor Fizz. This is not good.

    I can’t decide if Doreen is jerking Norris around or not. I’m enjoying it though.

    MF

  3. Michigander Fan says:

    Kerry,

    I had someone smuggle me over an official Tim Hortons poppy last year. (Unfortunately I didn’t get it until AFTER Veteran’s Day.) But this year I am READY!

    MF

  4. pip says:

    In Canada even if Sean signed a ‘piece of paper’ that wouldn’t be the end of things. The right to support and to contact with a parent is the right of the child, not of the parent, and a parent can’t waive it or bargain it away. This essentially means Sean will have access rights and Violet will have the right to child support. I’m so tired of the two of them being selfish and going over the same ground over and over again. Violet needs to suck it up, Sean needs to learn a little self-control.

    Do they have the equivalent of Worker’s Compensation in England? Jason was arguable on the job at the time of his accident and would be entitled to benefits here in BC if he lived here.

    It was touching to see David being sweet with his mom, and how much Gail wants a normal relationship with him. Too bad it’s all an act on his part. His game now seems to be to turn Gail completely against Sarah so he has her all to himself.

  5. beanie says:

    I have to agree with MF, Violet definately included Sean in the beginning of this ridiculous irresponsible plan. The sex of the baby thing was very wrong on Sean’s part for sure but I didn’t get Violet’s flipping out earlier when he wanted to touch the bump. It’s not like he hadn’t done it before. I really enjoy Sean’s character but I wish the writers would reel him in a little. I like the fact that he’s gay but do they have to made him such an annoying raging flame?

  6. Gayle says:

    Some folks may disagree with me on this but I think Violet is treating Sean very badly on the baby thing. I know she didn’t want to know the sex (I’ve been there and I didn’t want to know). However, they are supposed to be best friends and Violet is going to need lots of friends and support to raise this baby…like where in Eileens spare room? I used to like Violet but not any longer…her and Sarah are becoming a lot alike nagging shrews.

  7. geenee says:

    I never liked Violet and she is getting hard to watch. This storyline is going to wear pretty thin if we have to listen to her whining much longer. Sean is supposed to be a friend and he made a mistake but she needs to get over it.

    It would be logical for Jason to either collect Workers’ Comp. or work in the office, though with his intelligence, he might do more harm than good there.

    It was nice to see Emily with the poppies. She’s not on much anymore and I wonder how much longer she’ll be there.

  8. Glacia says:

    And let’s not forget her kind of demanding that he sleep with her. You’re gay? Oh just get over it for once!

    As an army brat, I’d actually like Nov 11 to be a national holiday. We get ‘family day’ (whatever…), but that there’s not national day of rememberance I think is pretty shameful.

  9. Michigander Fan says:

    Pip said: It was touching to see David being sweet with his mom, and how much Gail wants a normal relationship with him. Too bad it’s all an act on his part. His game now seems to be to turn Gail completely against Sarah so he has her all to himself.

    Yeah – Sarah figured out that he was pushing her buttons with the whole Todd thing. When that didn’t have an effect, he realized that this wasn’t working out for him – kicked out of the house and public enemy #1. Now he’s fixed it that he’s inside the family circle and she’s outside. He’s smart, I’ll give him that.

    I still say Gail and Audrey are complete morons, but we already knew that.

    MF

  10. Michigander Fan says:

    Geenee said: It was nice to see Emily with the poppies. She’s not on much anymore and I wonder how much longer she’ll be there.

    Absolutely – some of the older folks on the show are institutions, and it will be sad to see them go – Emily, but also Betty, Blanche, Rita and of course Jack and Vera!

    MF

  11. John says:

    I remember November 11 being a bigger deal when I was younger but today most of us work the holiday, which I think is kind of wrong.

    The white poppy thing does kind of tick me off, not so much because it’s misguided but because it’s another organisation horning in on the Legion’s turf. They get one time every year to remind everyone why they exist and now some other gang wants us to choose which poppy we’re to wear.

    I think of myself as a pretty liberal guy but there are some traditions you just don’t mess around with.

  12. fondue123 says:

    Glacia said: And let’s not forget her kind of demanding that he sleep with her. You’re gay? Oh just get over it for once!

    I agree 100%!!! Violet was really insensitive to Sean at that time, really pressuring him, and not treating him as a person with feelings etc. I was never a big fan of Violet, but that’s when she really started to piss me off. She never seems to see beyond the end of her sad little nose.
    Ok, Sean was wrong to pry the info out of Marcus, and to pass it on to others. But get a grip, Violet, get over this (small)disappointment and remember to be happy that you’re HAVING A BABY!!! Sheesh.

  13. Ang says:

    John I totally agree with you 100% regarding the white poppy.

    In some provinces November 11th is still a holiday. I don’t understand why it isn’t a holiday in Ontario anymore. Apparently it was at one time.

    I’m so tired of Violet right now. You would think being one of Sean’s bestfriends she’d know him better. HELLO they live in the same house, work in the same bar.. how can she expect him to just think of himself as a donor.

  14. debbie says:

    I think I’m the only one who like the Violet baby storyline.

    Also, I don’t think her plan is irresponsible.

    I like the story line because there are an increasing amount of women who are “choice moms.” Becoming pregnant and then finding yourself single is one thing. But choosing to be a single parent is another and brings up different issues.

    To be honest, Sean is being over-bearing. He is excited, but over-bearing. Her reaction is, I think a culmination of generally being tired of Sean. But, she’s got to expect him to have feelings. It’s not like she is having a baby with a robot or Steven Harper.

    I think what may end up being important in this story line is that Violet will learn that it is damn near impossible to be truly alone and have a baby. While it is in her character to think that she doesn’t depend on people and is totally alone, having this baby will highlight why it is important to cultivate personal relationships. At some point you have to be able to depend on someone.

  15. pip says:

    November 11 isn’t a holiday in Ontario!!! I never knew that! I live in BC and I don’t think there’s ever been the suggestion that it shouldn’t be a holiday. Yes, most of the stores are open, but that doesn’t mean you have to shop at them. There’s also no ‘white poppy’ movement here as far as I’m aware (I’d never even heard of it).

    Once the baby is born Violet is probably going to tell Sean to stay out of her life and respect her privacy, but expect him to drop everything and be there in an instant if she needs him, and if he can`t be there on the double she`ll question whether he really wants to be a part of the baby`s life like he claims.

  16. Michigander Fan says:

    You know, it’s really hard to focus on Corrie when there is a real, live soap opera going on in Detroit right now. As I write this, OUR MAYOR IS IN JAIL.

    MF

  17. John says:

    I follow wonkette.com so I heard about this earlier.

    He seriously tried to sell the Detroit half of the Detroit-Windsor tunnel?

  18. papasmurf1964 says:

    A mayor of a large American city in jail. What a surprise. Maybe you could stick your President in Guantanamo for a while.

  19. whitehorsefan says:

    Both Violet and Sean are to blame for how this is turning out. As I recall, the extent of the discussion around having a baby was: “We have so much fun when we get drunk, let’s do it.” They didn’t discuss in depth, if at all, any of the details including Sean’s involvement.

    And Violet should have known that Sean would be self-centred about the whole thing, and that he would develop attachment to the baby. Sean should also have known that Violet would get all prickly and stand-offish. I think it’s a bit easier to side with Sean because he is simply more pleasant, but he and Violet both got into this mess.

  20. glacia says:

    Oh I think Violet and Sean are both being irresponsible. I understand the ‘single mom by choice’ story should be done on Corrie, but I guess it would have set better with me if we were talking about more established women – like Shelly or Sunita – someone who had more than a salary that could only afford them a room in a house shared with 14 other people. (and yes, I know Sunita and Shelly are single moms now, but that wasn’t their intent when they got pregnant.)

    But then I think Jerry is a shit dad for giving his Finley coke for breakfast.

    True, Glacia hasn’t a maternal bone in her body and prefers to be in the role of Great Aunt Agatha than Mom, so I can’t really understand Violet’s need to reproduce. Still…I just keep thinking she should have gotten a few more of her eggs in order (no pun intended) before charging forth with this.

  21. debbie says:

    Pappa, you cut deep!

  22. missusmac says:

    Did you notice the little girl was eating a sucker at breakfast?

  23. kunzie says:

    Insightful comments…for me it raises the question, why doesn’t Violet WANT Sean to be the “father” of her baby. Here is your best friend, a loving human being, with two jobs, willing and enthusiastic about sharing child care, expenses, etc. Why shut him out?? Who does Violet think she is impressing by doing this “all by herself”?
    Besides, going forward it will be incredibly difficult for Sean to have to constantly split hairs and “care” about Violet but not “care” about the baby. I don’t think their friendship will survive her terms. And yes, Sean can be inconsiderate and think only “in the moment”…but don’t other guys do that, too?

  24. Michigander Fan says:

    John,

    Not only that, but he claims that he will have to lay off X number (I’ve heard 1200 and 2000) of city employees if he doesn’t sell it. (Never mind that the City Council rejected the deal.) That’s why he’s had these “emergencies”.

    OK.

    A. Half the city employees are his friends and family.
    B. How many salaries would the $8.4 million lawsuit settlement have paid?

    Just another day in paradise.

    I can’t tell you how thrilled I am to pay taxes to the City of Detroit for this kind of crap to go on, AND I don’t get a vote. Talk about taxation without representation!

    MF

  25. Michigander Fan says:

    Papa,

    Don’t get me started on our Prez. Actually, if I ran the zoo, all politicians would be euthanized when their term(s) were over. That would:

    A. save the expense of the Secret Service protection for the rest of their (increasingly long) lives.
    B. Save us from debacles like Jimmy Carter “helping” in the Middle East or Bill Clinton “helping” his wife’s campaign (I have a whole theory about Bill’s “gaffes” during Hill’s campaign).
    C. Make sure we only got people who REALLY want to serve their country.

    MF

  26. Michigander Fan says:

    Oh, and our mayor is a special kind of stupid. This guy’s arrogance is mindblowing.

    Quite literally, a soap opera couldn’t be this mesmerizing. It’s like watching a car wreck in veeerrrrry slow motion.

    The sad part is, he may well get away with it.

    MF

  27. Michigander Fan says:

    Kunzie,

    That is an EXCELLENT point. (Why doesn’t Violet want Sean to be a father.)

    I see her point about the gender of the baby – that was kind of rude. However, as for the rest of it, not only is it selfish (and unrealistic), it also hurts the child. Children benefit from not only both parents, but an extended support system (whether blood relations or not). I had aunts and uncles, but they were mostly in Chicago, so locally I had “aunts” and “uncles” who were close family friends. It’s important for a child. It’s like she thinks that she and this baby are going to exist in their own little universe. Have you seen About a Boy? Yeah. Like that. It’s not healthy.

    MF

  28. Michigander Fan says:

    Debbie,

    So I can’t touch your hair?

    Well now I don’t know if I’m coming to the next BIS!!!

    Grin.

    MF

  29. Mark Daye says:

    There is no such thing as an “official Tim Hortons poppy”. The poppies distributed in Canada are supplied by the Royal Canadian Legion and are used to raise fund for veterans.

  30. Glacia says:

    MF,

    Why can’t you vote?

    I freaking love ‘About a Boy’.

  31. papasmurf1964 says:

    I went to school in Windsor across the river from Deeetroit so I have experienced the city politics from there first hand.

    In spite of the last seven years of ineptitude I have to give props to George W for speaking out against China in the last day or so.

  32. glacia says:

    Mark said: ‘There is no such thing as an “official Tim Hortons poppy”.’

    Thank you Mark. My dad was a career soldier, I hate to think that Tim F’ Hortons is getting the credit for the poppies.

  33. John says:

    Maybe they were being sold in front of a Tim Horton’s? You know, get people where you find ’em? Like liqour stores.

  34. Gayle says:

    Kunzie, I just want to say I agree 100% with all your comments.

  35. beanie says:

    I had never heard of white poppies until now but it reminded me of my mum. About 8 or so years ago my mom asked me to get her a poppy if I saw any with green centers. It seems that someone thought black centers looked better. I don’t know whose fault it was but the legion got stuck with a whack of green centered poppies and would have to go to the expense of buying new ones. My mum loved a good cause so she wouldn’t wear the new version. I’m happy to say that I found a veteran selling green ones and I bought several.

  36. kunzie says:

    Gayle:

    Cheers ;-).

    I am forwarding your note to Mr. Kunzie so he too will see the light. LOL.

  37. geenee says:

    Me too – not knowing why Violet doesn’t want Sean to be a father. He was supposed to be her best friend and they talked about this long ago. He has his faults but is very warm-hearted and caring about his friends. He was there for Violet and Jamie when they unloaded all their problems on him and when they wanted to go out drinking. I seem to remember him being supportive of Eileen and the baby when it was dumped on her.

    Remembrance Day was never a holiday in Ont. in my memory except for govt. offices, banks etc. Some insurance companies give it but most other places don’t.

    As for soap opera politicians we have the minister in Ottawa who left govt. papers in his girlfriends apartment. She had several ex-boyfriends in the Hell’s Angels. Then there was the one – many years ago – who took his girlfriend for an abortion when they were illegal. There are probably lots of them. Oh, and the ex-MPP from Ont. who spent most of his time at the ranch in Texas. They could out-sleeze John Stapes.

  38. glacia says:

    Okay, that explains something. I grew up in BC and then moved to Ontario. For some reason I thought it was a federal holiday that got taken away.

    BTW – I seemed to remember that we did fireworks on Halloween night in BC. Or did I dream that?

  39. pip says:

    glacia, fireworks still happen in BC on Hallowe’en if you live in a municipality that hasn’t banned them.

    I really think Violet has gone off Sean because she’s sees a chance of getting back with Jamie. Did you notice how he touched her hand in this episode and she seemed to like that? Apparently she’s forgotten for now that he slept with his stepmother, but I guarantee you (make a note of this) that if they do get back together it will become a BIG ISSUE for Violet because Violet is not happy unless she’s unhappy (that makes no sense, but nor does she).

  40. whitehorsefan says:

    Okay, I am going on mat leave next Friday, have tons of work to complete by then and am expecting clients imminently in which I will have to discuss Very Bad News with them, so what do I do? Continue the Violet/Sean discussion. How’s that for time management.

    I don’t think that Violet wants Sean completely out of the baby’s life, she just doesnt want to him to play the role of the father. And I don’t see a problem with that, if they had determined that at the beginning. The child can know Sean, and know he’s the father, without Sean being involved in making major decisions about the child.

  41. kunzie says:

    I don’t think it’s possible to know your biological child, be “best friends” with the mother, love the child….and mysteriously have no say whatsoever in how they spend their time on this earth. All it teaches the child is that their father is somehow weirdly neutered when it comes to them…or they may even think he doesn’t care. It sets up the mother figure as a dictator. Bogus.

  42. pip says:

    Congrats on your impending maternity leave WHF (oh, and on the baby – that, too).

    I agree with you kunzie, it seems like Violet wants to have complete discretion over Sean’s role, which just opens itself up to all kinds of abuse. Bottom line is she has to do what’s best for the baby, and the consensus is that it is best for a child to have a strong relationship with both parents. In some ways Sean will be a great dad, because he is sensitive and caring, and he has tons of love to give.

  43. Michigander Fan says:

    Glacia,

    I cannot vote because, although I WORK in the City, and therefore pay income tax in the City, I don’t RESIDE in the City. There’s a lot of us who work downtown and have no representation but still have to pay City taxes.

    Pretty crap huh?

    MF

  44. Michigander Fan says:

    Re: the poppies. All I know is that in the States, we don’t have poppies. So last year (my first watching Corrie), I asked what was up with the poppies. Someone (John?) explained it to me, and I decided I WANT ONE. After all, I want to honor out vets as well! So my sister’s fiance got his arm twisted – I demanded “an official poppy” and he brought me one. From Tim Horton’s in Windsor. (And no, the mayor isn’t my sister’s fiance!)

    So this November, I will be wearing a poppy.

    I hope to start a grass roots movement.

    MF

  45. kerry says:

    Hey WHF,
    Glacia can touch YOUR belly, right?

    Our kids can grow up knowing the Corrie theme song from birth!

  46. Glacia says:

    Kerry honey, you can touch any part you want.

    Glacia slaps herself and remembers this is a family blog.

  47. Michigander Fan says:

    Oh WHF, congrats! I missed the part in school where reading comprehension becomes “retaining what you have read.”

    Sooo, is it a boy? Cuz you could name him Sean!

    MF

  48. S. Poole says:

    Michigander Fan:

    So this November, I will be wearing a poppy.

    I hope to start a grass roots movement.

    You go, MF! Love it. In this area of Ont vets are encouraged to wear two poppies so we know who to thank at the cenotaph each Nov. 11.

  49. eps says:

    MF,
    Sure we have poppies in the US. When I was a kid in the DC area around Memorial Day every store had folks (scouts, VFW, different veterans organizations) selling them outside – kind of like Girl Scout cookies and kittens these days. I still see VFW folks selling them and at memorial services I occasionally see them. I suspect that they may have a resurgence of popularity with the Iraq war.

    eps

  50. eps says:

    S. Poole

    I never saw or heard (as far as I know) the word “cenotaph”.
    Thanks.

    eps

  51. kunzie says:

    One of my in-laws is a young man serving in Afghanistan. On leave, he was helping our family prepare wood for winter. I asked him what is the most helpful thing that those of us at home can do. He replied, “Help out our families while we are gone.”

  52. whitehorsefan says:

    Pip and MF: Thanks! We don’t know the gender yet, but watching Corrie narrows down the pool of names we can choose from. Bethany for instance, is simply not an option.

    Kerry: I believe in early indoctrination.

  53. Joy says:

    My father-in-law died at the end of last October. Because he was a veteran, he had a Legion funeral. The veterans paraded past a table on which there was a photo of him along with his ashes. Each, in turn, removed their poppy & left it on the table before saluting & stepping aside. It was very moving!

Leave a Reply

