Update: Thursday August 28, 2008 – She’s a

Singletons

Single #1 – Lloyd discusses the singles party with Steve at the office of Streetcards. The report is that Chantelle is saving herself for marriage and once she arrived home they found her mother waiting for them at home. Claire says she cannot remember how fit Chantelle was because she was too drunk and apologized for any thing which might have happened which was embarrassing. She admits she made a fool of herself with Kevin. Steve and Lloyd stare at each other wide eyed. Why does she keep admitting this to anyone?

Single #2 – Doris flirts endlessly with Norris. This seems to really get on Rita’s nerves. I ask: why does she care? She rejected Norris. Rita then warns Norris that Doris is a “Maneater” and to watch out. Norris just laughs.

Marrieds

Claire admits to Sally how she kissed Kevin. She was just so happy to see a friendly face. She is ‘so sorry”, although Sal can hardly believe her ears. I say – let sleeping dogs lie!

Sal wants to know why Claire is confessing to nothing. Claire says she could not sit there and pretend to be a friend after misbehaving. Sally says she is going to give him such a hard time. Claire lets slip that she is back with Ashley. Sally is thrilled.

Ashley gets Claire a gold necklace that says “Forever”.

At least it isn’t a tattoo.

Cheaters

Rosie manages to find John in his car and tells him that she is going out with Leigh that afternoon. John tells her she can do better. She thinks it is better than staying indoors like some saddo. She offers to text Leigh and cancel the date if John wants to make her a better offer. (Rolls eyes)

She gets in the car.

Babies

Sean is in a sulk at the house, in the pub moaning to Marcus the entire time. Personally, I would give him a good sit down and tell him to smarten up.

Violet gets sick of all the whining and snide comments she finally confronts Sean at the house. He tells her that he wants to be the dad and the baby in her womb is – HIS son. And that he will be going to a solicitor to confirm it.

This entry was posted in Coronation Street Updates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Update: Thursday August 28, 2008 – She’s a

  1. debbie says:

    She’s also an easy lover.

  2. geenee says:

    To me, Violet is the whiney one. Why can’t she remember that Sean is supposed to be her friend? But no, as soon as Jamie is in the picture, she wants Sean gone.

    I think it’s kind of refreshing to have a character as honest as Claire, though it probably would have been better to just forget the whole kiss thing.

    This week’s shows seem slow. We need some hour-long make-up episodes.

  3. debbie says:

    I loved that Sally was all “Why are you telling me this.” It was like she was more embarrassed for her than angry.

  4. Modge says:

    Of course, the innocent/drunken kiss that Claire gave to Kevin has nowhere near the magnitude (read: potential for destruction) of what Sally would like to do with Snake (I think I just threw up a little), so she can afford to be kind and charitable, can’t she? It wouldn’t surprise me if she uses this to justify her own thoughts and feelings – another get out of jail free card.

  5. Michigander Fan says:

    Funny update!

    I liked that Sal & Kev were both pretty cool about the whole thing.

    Did anyone else think Clurr seemed less than thrilled with Ash’s gift?

    Rosie’s acting like a complete idiot.

    RE: Sean & Violet. I see both sides here, but I am tending to side with Sean. (Maybe because I know a guy here whose girlfriend held the “if I don’t put your name on the birth certificate, you don’t have any parental rights” card over him for 9 months.) I have no clue about UK parental laws work, but in the US they don’t favor fathers.

    MF

  6. John says:

    Debbie – she’s got a hold on you, believe it. She’s like no other and before you know it you’ll be on your knees.

    Way back when I was reading spoilers for this storyline, I somehow got the idea that the Claire/Kevin thing came out differently. In my head, Claire tries to kiss Kevin at a singles do just before Christmas. Her moral righteousness being so damaged, she marches in on the Websters on Christmas Day, right in the middle of their dinner, to announce that she tried to kiss Kevin and regrets it terribly. She is then knocked back by the entire Webster clan, telling her to get over herself and go home.

    I think my version is funnier.

  7. debbie says:

    She is the kinda girl you dream of. Dream of taking hold of. I’ll never forget it.

    I think you dreamed up your version. Tell me the story line you dreamed up for Kelly Crabtree.

  8. John says:

    Debbie, I would, but we’re a family blog.

    She will play around and leave you, leave you and deceive you. Better forget it. Oh you’ll regret it.

  9. debbie says:

    Yeah, i wont try to change her. I’ll just leave it. I’m not the only one and seeing is believing. It’s the only way I’ll ever know.

    John, I love your love for Kelly Crabtree.

  10. Glacia says:

    OKay, I htink we need a correction.

    ‘Doris’ is the nickname we came up with for Norris. Doreen is the maneater.

    I think I started this mess with my last update.

  11. pip says:

    Actually, isn’t Les Battersby the one who always called Norris ‘Doris’?

    I’m siding with Sean on this one. Yes he is needy and insecure but in part that’s because Violet continually tells him she’s calling the shots. In Canada he would have lots of rights (and responsibilities – child support) as the father.

  12. fondue123 says:

    Pip, you’re right: Les came up with Doris for Norris, and oh how appropriate it is! I always laughed when he said it, just dripping with disdain.
    Re: Sean and Violet. I do see both sides of this coin….BUT (and that’s a big but)I think Violet is using her justified annoyance with Sean to give her permission to totally sideline his role. As far as I recall, they never went into any details when they agreed to do this, but I know they were all giggly and warm and over the moon with how terrific and strong their friendship was. Violet even said what a wonderful DAD Sean would make. In the absence of a formal agreement, I can see why Sean would take that to mean she wanted him to be involved as a DAD and not just as a donor. So I guess I’m in Sean’s corner on this one…

  13. Gayle says:

    I’m also behind Sean on this one, I know he can be annoying but he really, really wants to be a part of the child’s life. I think Violet is being very selfish.

    I love Marcus!

  14. missusmac says:

    Really, Violet will never have another partner like Jamie who will have complete faith in Sean.

    On paper, if you were going to have a good parenting threesome partnership, this would be it. But Vi, instead of compromising, wants Sean gone. And Sean, instead of compromising, heads to a lawyer and makes threats.

    Someone mentioned nothing much happened this week. I beg to differ. In three days we went from Jamie’s drunken “I care strongly for you” to “let’s get a place of our own.”

    Claire and Kevin? That would actually be a good plot line. Would love, love LOVE to see Claire parenting those Webster girls!!!

  15. fondue123 says:

    missusmac, you make a very good point. The way they’re dealing with it now is pushing them further and further away from reaching a workable solution. Whether Violet likes it or not, Sean IS the baby’s father, she can’t change it by ignoring it. That being said, I don’t blame Sean for consulting the law, Violet did say she was going to make sure he had NOTHING to do with the baby, and that’s surely not legal! Sean needs to calm down, find out his legal position, and have a serious talk with Violet. And Violet needs to calm down, and see the value of a compromise.

  16. kunzie says:

    If Claire and Sally were to remain friends in an authentic way, she had to tell Sally about the kiss. She put Sally’s dignity before her own. There is nothing worse than “sensing” something between your mate and someone else, and no one will tell you what’s going on.

    Refresh me again – what is Violet’s exact PROBLEM with having Sean help parent the baby, Jamie and herself co-parent the baby, and likely Marcus helping out, too? To me, that just spells sanity and sleep!!

    How about this for a big wrench in the works: what if Rosie ends up pregnant?

  17. geenee says:

    I’d love to see how Sally would handle that one!

Leave a Reply

