The Palms Of Scotland

Referreing to the discussion of how verdant England seems to be in the dead of winter I thought a picture of the palm trees in front of Culzean Castle in Ayrshire, Scotland would give people an idea of warm it can be up north.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Palms Of Scotland

  1. Mandy says:

    Wow, that is ugly. Palm trees in front of a beautiful old castle? Pass me the barf bag!

  2. kunzie says:

    I reacted totally differently. I think it looks very inviting. I wish I was there with a book, some weiss beer and no one to bug me!!

  3. Yanyan says:

    Yeesh, Canada really got the shitty end of the old British Empire stick, didn’t it?

  4. Michigander Fan says:

    Wow. That is seriously green. It looks like California in January! (As opposed to the summer, when California looks all brown and dead and like Smoky the Bear’s worst nightmare.)

    OK. So. WHY are they complaining about SAD??? Seriously?!

    If you get green like that in the winter, they have no business being seasonally affected. Good Grief, Charlie Brown!

    MF

  5. Mandy says:

    But it is rainy a lot. And grey. And it can not just be about the cold but also because they don’t get enough Vitamin D from sunlight!

  6. geenee says:

    I remember seeing palms in Ireland and Devon when I was there on holiday. Also fuschia hedges which are lucky to make it through the summer in my yard were huge and blooming.

  7. Michigander Fan says:

    Mandy,

    Where are you? Because it is grey from November through March in Detroit – grey skies, grey dead icky snow on the ground… blech. I’m getting depressed just thinking about it.

    If it’s going to be grey, at least green grass would be somewhat cheerful. Plus it not being colder than a witch’s tit half the year.

    And I know Detroit doesn’t get as cold as most of Canada. (the southern tip of Ontario excepted, of course)

    And it’s coming again. I keep thinking I want to move somewhere sunny and warm. Then there’s a hurricane, and I realize that perhaps Detroit isn’t that bad.

    MF

  8. Yanyan says:

    On the east coast of Canada, we had 10 gajillion metres of snow last winter. It snowed EVERY day. I’ll take grey & rainy over that, no problemo.

  9. debbie says:

    Is that Kanye’s house?

  10. beanie says:

    MF I haven’t heard the term ‘colder than a witches tit’ in years. I snorted my coffee this morning. LOL

  11. Michigander Fan says:

    Beanie,

    It’s a favorite family expression – probably one of the top 5.

    Other favorites include:

    He’s about as useful as a screen door on a submarine.

    and

    He acts like his sh*t don’t stink.

    I’m glad I could give you a chuckle to start your day.

    MF

  12. Gayle says:

    Michigander fan, I’ve got one for you
    “he’s as useless as a chocolate teapot”

  13. Michigander Fan says:

    Oooh… I like that – I’m going to add it to my repertoire!

    Thanks for the tip!

    MF

Leave a Reply

