Coronation Street Votes

spiiting-image-thatcherIntended for a broad audience, Corrie has always avoided too many direct political preferences on the show lest it alienate its viewers. While it does tackle social issues, it’s not the West Wing with well-educated leftist yuppies going around telling the less enlightened what’s best for them. 

That said, 2008 has been a highly charged political year with the election of the first African-American president in the U.S., Gordon Brown doing whatever it is Gordon Brown does, and there was an election, followed by a kind of constitutionally legal coup d’etat, in Canada that didn’t happen when the prime minister closed parliament and asked that lady who lives across the street for some pierogies. Or something. 

And today, us Québecois are off the polls in an election that has electrified absolutely nobody.

This year saw many people who don’t normally make an issue of their politics declaring their preference. It got me wondering, when it comes to the ballot box, who do our favourite characters vote for?

KEN BARLOW – LABOUR

Guardian reader, teacher, intellectual and the most overtly political character, Ken is the original fan of the welfare state and never wavered in his support for Labour since he was entitled to vote. These days, he spends his time on left-leaning web forums apologising for Tony Blair’s friendship with George W. Bush

DEIRDRE BARLOW – CONSERVATIVE

But doesn’t tell Ken.

BLANCHE HUNT – CONSERVATIVE

But thought Margaret Thatcher was “stroppy.”

EMILY BISHOP – CONSERVATIVE

What else would she be?

NORRIS COLE – CONSERVATIVE

Norris is almost a parody of right-wing reactionary, tabloid readers, thinking that some minor vandalism is a sympton of a larger crime wave and a result of a justice system gone soft. 

RITA SULLIVAN – CONSERVATIVE

Really as a holdover from the days when her burlesque dancing seemed so much naughtier when the Tories were in power.

ROY CROPPER – GREEN PARTY

Increased his operating overhead 150% by insisting all produce be local and organic.

CARLA CONNOR – CONSERVATIVE

In high school, slept with a photo of Margaret Thatcher under her pillow.

STEVE MACDONALD

Usually forgets to vote, is apathetic, might lean Labour, if he thought of it.

MICHELLE CONNOR – NONVOTER

Voting cuts into her crying time.

VIOLET WILSON – NONVOTER

Violet once showed up to vote but wouldn’t stop complaining and she was asked to leave.

SEAN TULLEY – LABOUR

All the way due to its more progressive policies but neglects to vote if it conflicts with Strictly Come Dancing.

BETTY – MONSTER RAVING LOONEY PARTY

Everyone has to have their secrets.

GERRY MORTON – LIBERAL DEMOCRATS

Only so he can say, “Don’t blame me. I voted for the other guys (who never win).”

SALLY WEBSTER – UNDECIDED

Whichever party’s candidate is the most attractive and successful looking.

KEVIN WEBSTER – LABOUR

I don’t know why. Small business owner. Seems to fit the profile. Also once stated that private education is against his principles. 

KIRK SUTHERLAND – DEMOCRAT*

*Went into the polling and asked where on the ballot might he find Barack Obama. 

What do you all think? Does Corrie lean to the left or to the right? Or is it Fair and Balanced?

About shatnerian

Former Maritimer living in the suburbs of Montreal.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Coronation Street Votes

  1. Mandy says:

    I really really enjoyed this!

  2. glacia says:

    “…well-educated leftist yuppies going around telling the less enlightened what’s best for them.”

    John, I LOVE it when you talk to me like that….purr.

    I’m going to disagree with you on Emily though. Given the fact that her religious leanings tend to be more help out at the charity shop than waving a condemming finger at the unbelievers and heritics (I’ve never seen her give anyone a hard time)…I can see her actually left wing. Her desire to help the poor is pretty strong and I can see that pour over to a desire for social justice.

    A religious dedication does not necessarily mean being conservative.

  3. Yanyan says:

    I agree, Glacia. Also, let’s not forget the tremendous influence that Sexy Spider had on Auntie Em.

    • John says:

      I’ve always seen Emily as someone like my grandmother, a lifelong conservative who also dedicated much of her life to charity. Her and Emily’s conservatism comes from a certain sense of continuity and tradition, which tends to be the domain of conservatism, rather than a rigid ideology. I also think that Christian charity is something that cuts across political leanings so that’s why I stuck her there.

      But point taken, she could be more liberal than I would give her credit for.

  4. haili says:

    Emily is definitely either Labour or Green. Remember when she had the sit-in up the tree at the Red Rec? She always defended Spider and seemed to agree with his ban the bomb stuff and anti-war leanings. She seems like the kind of do-gooder that would agree with Labour and seemed to lean left in her earlier days. They were always protesting something or other.

  5. Mandy says:

    I agree that Emily would be a Conservative. Not because she’s old, not because she’s religious, but because, like John says, she’s a lot like my Grandma, who is also a Conservative!

    I’m religious, but I’m not a Conservative!

  6. Mandy says:

    And I would have to say that not all Conservatives “wave a a condemming finger at the unbelievers and heritics”. But I know what you mean!

  7. whitehorsefan says:

    Are the Conservatives in England as socially conservative as in the US? If so, than I agree that Emily would be Conservative. If not, I tend to think she might vote Labour too.

    And for Sally, I think she generally goes for looks and charm, but during the Thatcher years voted conservative, because she, like Thatcher, yearns to be more than a shop keepers daughter.

  8. Glacia says:

    No, I wasn’t suggesting that Conservatives do. Just that with some religious people there’s a social conservativism that might draw them to right wing parties.

    But I know that you know what I mean.

    Glacia – socially liberal, economically conservative, green leaning, religious but not an asshole about it – who is probably going to walk slowly away from all the political talk.

  9. eila says:

    I miss the Rhino Party.

  10. lovethestreet says:

    The Rhino party is too sensible to deal with the jokers leading our other parties just now.

  11. haili says:

    Not all old people are Conservatives. About half the people my age are more left leaning. I’d say my kids generation is more conservative than we were – also more affluent. I also think Betty would vote Labour, but then I don’t really know that much about British political parties. All I know is: ours are seriously messed up.

  12. debbie says:

    Great, now I want pierogies.

  13. Mandy says:

    Glacia, I have experienced religious people that think it’s like doctrine or something to vote Conservative too! My friend totally disagreed with Stephen Harper’s policies but voted for him in the last election because “Christians vote Conservative”. WHAT?

Leave a Reply

