Update for Wednesday, December 17th – The Choice

In Which Gail Perhaps Gives a Gentle Push

We open moments after Tina’s bombshell that she is pregnant. And to clear up whatever confusion I may have had – it’s David’s.

Tina is, needless to say, really freaked out by this turn of events but Gail is very patient. She lets Tina talk, assures her that she is not the only person who has gone through this, and offers up no judgement.

Later, at the kitchen table, Gail asks her what her parents think. She says her mum will kill her and really, she wishes Gail were her mum. David is lucky, she says, and he doesn’t even realise it.

Meanwhile in Bubbles’ shed, David is still boring Darryl to sleep with his relationship issues.

Later, Gail suggests that Tina first sort out what she wants before involving David. Tina will go to an appointment tomorrow for an official pregnancy test. Gail suggests that she doesn’t know how David will react and she doesn’t need pressure either way. She also tells her that David is not the most mature lad in the world.

But she also says this should be discussed with her parents, who know her better than Gail does. She assures her things will be better in the morning.

At first I thought, hey Gail’s being really cool here – giving the girl space to think but also giving some good advice about David. Then I began to wonder if she was really just giving her a subtle push toward an abortion clinic. Maybe she’s just being realistic and this may be an option Tina would have taken anyway but still…

This is held up by her later conversation with Audrey (whom she had no business telling, IMO) when she says she went through this with Sarah and has no intention of going through it again. Audrey agrees and adds that there’s no reason His Lordship need know about this.

And Jason popped his head in long enough to ask Gail why Sarah won’t return his calls. Gail just tells him to bugger off home.

The Neverending Storyline 2


“Keanu Reeves” aka Alex in 10 years

Michelle doesn’t want to give up Alex to Wendy and hits below the belt when she suggests that Alex prefers her due to Wendy’s crap mothering skills.

Steve’s still running interference between the two of them but he’s kind of irrelevant at this point. Wendy says Michelle was lucky with Ryan. Alex was difficult and their marriage broke up under the strain. Alex overhears this and says, “Mother Michelle! Don’t you see the dark pain these two parental imposters have caused me all my dark depressing forlorn life?!” and retires back to Ryan’s room to listen to the Smiths.

In Other News

Harry took Kelly to Vallandro’s where they met Dan who took offense that the woman he left waiting for an hour decided to take up with another dude with a better offer.

Business still sucks at Vallandro’s.

Marcus tries to cheer Sean up with kebabs, using the time honoured emotional healing technique of finding that hole in your soul and putting food on top of it.

And that’s me off to Scotland then. See you in 2009!

About shatnerian

Former Maritimer living in the suburbs of Montreal.
This entry was posted in Coronation Street Updates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Update for Wednesday, December 17th – The Choice

  1. haili says:

    I thought Gail was good with Tina when she told her it was her decision and to tell her parents. Of course, we know David will probably take this very badly as he takes everything very badly, but it is Tina’s decision. Audrey has become very supportive in the last few years so telling her might be OK – if she keeps her mouth shut.

    In the never-ending storyline, Michelle was her usual selfish self and Wendy has every right to be angry. Too bad Alex poked his head in at the wrong moment but it sounds like he’s been difficult – to say the least.

    That was a funny clip about Keannu!

  2. debbie says:

    Baby don’t leave!

    I thought Gail was good with Tina too, although a terrible mother in general. I thought it was OK that she told Audrey. This whole pregnancy thing is a strain on Gail as well. She needs someone to talk too.

    Seriously, Michelle makes me want to smash the TV. It is too bad that Alex heard what she said, but I think it is a fair statement for her to make. He is a kid, but when kids attack – kidding – when kids are very difficult how could that NOT cause strain on a relationship?

  3. Gayle says:

    I’m sorry that some posters will probably strongly disagree with me, but I thought Gail had no business giving Tina parental advice last night. First of all, Nick when he was married to Leanne had a unplanned pregnancy and he talked her into having an abortion, then Sara gets pregnant at 13 and we all know how well that turned out. Tina needs to go HOME and talk to HER parents. Gail needs to keep her mouth shut, she had no right to tell Audrey especially in the pub. David needs to be told, if he is old enough to have sex he is old enough to deal with the consquences. I have a feeling Gail wants Tina to have an abortion and never tell David.

    As far as Michelle goes, why can’t Wendy get some legal advice in order to take Alex back home. I really feel sorry for Ryan,

  4. Yanyan says:

    I have to say I agree with Gayle. Gail (Platt) does not have the best track record where teenage pregnancy is concerned. If I were that girl’s mother, I would be furious that Gail (Platt) felt she could give my daughter advice.

  5. debbie says:

    I think you guys make a good point. And yes Gail is a terrible mother. But, I also feel that when you have a young person talking to you about a serious issue, it is probably best to keep them talking but URGE them to talk to their parents. Hopefully the parents are responsible adults and not the freak show that Tina says they are.

    Perhaps Gail should have offered to go to see her parents with her. I don’t know if that would be the perfect right thing, but I think it may make it easier for her to talk to her parents if Gail is there for support.

    Could you imagine what Tina’s parents would say if they knew David’s history?

  6. haili says:

    Gail didn’t tell Tina what to do – just that it’s Tina’s decision. She also urged her to talk to her parents. I would have done the same probably. It’s up to Tina when/if to tell David as she’s the one who has to live with the consequences. I can also understand Gail wanting to talk to Audrey. The poor woman needs some moral support after what she’s been through with those kids! Gail never urged Tina to have an abortion – just to consider her options.

    I don’t think the parents would take it very well though if Gail went with Tina. Tina needs to talk to them herself. If, as she says, they are not the supportive type, she needs to make her own decision.

    I also think it’s a bit soon for Wendy to get legal advice, also, courts usually decide in favour of the child’s wishes and what’s in his best interest.

  7. pip says:

    I’m guessing Tina is at least 17 and maybe older (she strikes me as being older than David). She’s almost an adult legally; she’s old enough to have an abortion without parental consent and she’s old enough to decide who she wants to talk to about her pregnancy. So, I don’t have any problem with Gail talking to her and I think Gail did a great job (especially by first finding out from Tina whether there was anyone who knew her better who she was comfortable with going to for advice). As for David. . . Tina’s the one who is pregnant and if she decides to have an abortion that’s her decision and she doesn’t have to talk to David about it or even tell him after the fact. If she decides to have the baby, again that’s her decision, and while she doesn’t have to talk to David to decide what to do, she does need to tell him that she’s having his baby (he has rights just like Sean).

    Michelle is an idiot. She seems to be completely unconcerned with Ryan’s feelings. When Ryan abandons her emotionally she will weep and wail about how she didn’t want this.

    You know, I’ve almost had it with Corrie (maybe I’m just feeling stressed by Christmas). I’ve come to the realization (very belatedly) that soaps have a major flaw: no happy endings. The angst just goes on and on. Sometimes I need a little ‘happily ever after’.

  8. lovethestreet says:

    pip — what I’ve always like about Corrie is the day-to-day fun between the trauma: like Fiz learning how to ride her scooter…or the blokes at Streetcars having inane conversations…or Sean saying “What’ll it be, luv?” when he waits on Norris in the Rovers. We had a bit of a giggle the other day when everyone was making fun of Daryl’s tatoo; however, I agree that the writes haven’t given us much to smile about lately.

  9. haili says:

    Credit where it’s due: I had a lot of laughs when Vi was having that baby in the Rovers. Maybe I have a warped sense of humour but her screams and facial expressions, along with Liz and Jack’s remarks had me giggling.

    We do need more from the cab office though. Eileen, Steve and Lloyd are great. God knows, Steve needs a laugh or two after all the misery at the Rovers these days.

  10. Barbie says:

    Maybe I’m the only one here who thinks this, but I don’t trust that Tina. She did have 2 conversations with her ex just before this pregnancy thing came up and I can’t help but wonder if she is just looking for a free abortion. She sure buttered Gail up and if she plays her cards right David will never know anything about it. I could be wrong on this, and if it is David’s then I suspect he would want her to have it, expecially after the fuss he made at Christmas dinner about his mother almost having an abortion.

  11. Bea says:

    I have to agree with Barbie. I don’t trust Tina, or Gail either for that matter. I think they each have their own adjenda. (did I spell that right?)

  12. Pauline says:

    I was also wondering why Tina had been to see her ex, Matt. Are they cooking something up?

    The Michelle/Ryan/Alex storyline is done to death!! Give it a decent burial, puhleeease.

    Regarding Sean, so that’s it? He loses his son and in two episodes he’s over it? He’s resolved to “wait and see” if Violet has a change of heart and comes back to Weatherfield? No mention of speaking with a lawyer to find out what his rights are or nothing, just takes advice from Ken Barlow?

  13. haili says:

    I wouldn’t be surprised if the ex turned out to be the daddy. Why else would Tina make a point of seeing him, and why bring him into the picture at all?

    I still don’t know if unmarried fathers have any rights. They didn’t in the past but maybe things have changed.

  14. missusmac says:

    I’m wondering if Tina’s ex was brought in to show that a) he’s way more mature than David and (b) from what I saw, way better looking!

    So why is she with David?

    I like her. I think she is a rude beast occasionally, but I also think she really doesn’t know how to lie. I like the irony of her being pulled in completely to the lie of tht is Gail’s life…

  15. fondue says:

    Barbie, I suspect Tina would not have to pay for a termination in Great Britain. I don’t know for sure…but that’s probably covered by NH.
    For that reason, I don’t see any ulterior motive for her talking to Gail about this. I just think she’s feeling overwhelmed, and needed to talk to someone.
    The baby could very well be the x-boyfriend’s, but did we ever get any idea of how long ago they broke up? I know Tina could have been cheating on David with the x, but I dunno, I kinda like her, and think she’s probably pretty sincere. She certainly says exactly what she thinks; if she wanted to date the x, and dump David, I think she would just do that, she wouldn’t sneak around.

  16. stickybee says:

    I believe they have to pay for abortions. Didn’t Tracy get some money from Charlie for her fake abortion?

  17. jeanie says:

    I was very surprised when Tina said the baby is David’s. That has to be a record for meeting someone, getting pregnant and testing positive.

  18. Glacia says:

    I think they said in the show that she could get a NH abortion for free but she’d have to wait 4 weeks. If she wanted one immediately she would have to pay for a private clinic.

  19. whitehorsefan says:

    I didn’t get to see Gail’s discussion with Tina, but it sounds like she handled it well. I also don’t think she has to talk to her parents about it. It doesn’t sound like they are very supportive, and sometimes, when the decision is an abortion, parents make the situation worse, not better. The most important thing, IMO, is to have someone mature to talk the situation through with, regardless of whether they are related to you or not.

    Course, last night that all changed when Gail’s softly softly approach became a little more like a shove.

  20. whitehorsefan says:

    Oh, and my favourite moment of the episode was when Gayle was telling Audrey about the pregnancy and she said that it was easier when Sarah was pregnant, as she was more mature than David. Did she forget that Sarah was 12 when she got pregnant? With that comment she still beats Michelle for the worst mother ever award.

  21. haili says:

    Sarah was more mature at 12 than David is now – or less of a sociopath! But that’s not saying much.

  22. Barbie says:

    Fondue, the reason I thought she would want a quicker “paid” abortion is that she is further along than she is letting on and NH takes longer. I’m still not entirely sure it isn’t Davids, and actually I hope it is because I like her character and hope she stays around for a while. Of course if she takes off, David could really go off the deep end.

Leave a Reply

