Thursday March 5th 2009 – The Strangest Episode I have Ever Seen Update

UK Time Friday May 23rd 2008 – Episode I

I don’t even know where to start with this whack-job episode. Was it a strange episode for anyone else? I guess the only place to start is at the beginning.

Harry and Liz are grounded

Harry and Liz are grounded

Liz is in a fantastic mood. She certainly woke up on the right side of the bed. She pops downstairs in time to catch Steve and Michelle’s riveting conversation about Sting and toast and Newcastle. During this scene I just kept thinking that Steve should dump Michelle.

Later Liz and Deirdre are standing in their gigantic pack of Rothman’s. Today Deirdre decides to kind of encourage Liz’s behaviour. Looks to me that Deirdre is living vicariously through her tarty bezzie mate. Deirdre points out that Bookie dad is exactly the kind of man Liz likes (save the excessive drinking and explosively violent temperament).

In the pub Liz tells Harry that she’s been getting a hard time about having dinner with him. I bet he could say the same, Liz. They make arrangements to have a civilized afternoon lunch, which is code for turning on the red light, which is code for doing it which is code for sexual intercourse.

In the smoothest move ever, Harry tells his son that he’s gotta go … now because he has lost his wallet, yes that’s it, and has to go home RIGHT NOW. Liz then tells Michelle that she has to go to the shops, that’s right, to er… get something or other. Dan wasn’t born yesterday. Dude has been around the block and is, after all, dating a former sex worker. He knows what time it is.

Naturally he uses this knowledge to wind Steve up during the most mature darts game I have ever seen played at the Rovers of Weatherfield.

Steve steps out of the pub and into Deridre. Ever the polite middle-aged man Steve asks Deirdre if she is feeling better. She comes clean in an instant.

Meanwhile at Harry’s Pleasure Palace we learn that Harry made no lunch. He had ulterior motives which is a polite way to say that he wanted to get Liz round to romance her, which is a polite way to say that they really only intended on getting it on which is a polite way of saying they are gonna have sexual intercourse.

Its the Principle of Pleasure

Its the Principle of Pleasure

Just as they were about to get the party started the doorbell rings. Oh, the delayed gratification! Steve comes up the stairs to give his mother a lecture about adultery. Since Steve has never done the dirty he can totally lecture his mom on the finer points of marital bliss. We tells Liz, “Whatever Vernon’s faults might be, no bloke deserves this.” No bloke except Lloyd, that is.

House swapping was never so complex. Claire and Sally locked horns once more. What is up with these ladies? They now have lists of fixtures and fittings and that will give them something to nit pick for a while.

Claire uses this as an opportunity to go through Sally’s house and criticize every bit of it in her ever so Claire way. I would have punched her in the face, which is code for I would have punched her in the face.

Very Useful Stuff

Very Useful Stuff

There is something fowl in the Barlow residence aside from Ken’s temper, Blanche’s disposition and Deirdre’s smoking. The old lady slipped into the bathroom just before Ken and during her shower the pips began to leak in several places. This was beyond even my skill with the plumber’s goop (which, ladies, is also useful for mending earrings and other costume jewelry).

Thankfully Rodger came by to sort out the problem. They have a corroded pipe as well as a corrosive old lady in the house. He can fix it for a white fiver, but with labour it should come to about £ 689.53.

In Other News

That siding on the old Rec is staying up. Poor Molly. It’s a bit of our little swamp duck sticking with you. She’s tenacious.

This entry was posted in Coronation Street Updates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Thursday March 5th 2009 – The Strangest Episode I have Ever Seen Update

  1. John says:

    I loved Jack talking to Vera up above, then requesting that she assist his betting on the races.

  2. haili says:

    It was a filler episode IMO and I think they must have a few of those for emergencies which seem to crop up now and then with the actors.

    I too wondered about Steve disapproving of Liz after some of the things he got up to in the past.

    Claire and Sally’s nitpicking – more filler! – but funny. On the plus side, there was no Liam and Maria stuff and only a little of Michelle.

  3. Gayle says:

    I kind of liked this episode. Harry’s bathrobe is exactly the same as my husbands!

    It was nice to have little comedy for a change.

    But what was Claire talking about when referring to Sally’s spicerack, surely that would not be included in the sale of the house?

    I don’t understand Claire…she is moving out of one of nicest houses in the street with a conservatory (I have always wanted one) and a lovely garden for the boys to play in to an ugly terraced house with no yard. There must be another way to raise money…she is a trained nanny why doesn’t she open a daycare? Goofy story-line all round.

  4. glacia says:

    I was thinking that myself…I think the Peacocks is my favourite house on the street. I’d never leave.

  5. fondue123 says:

    Hey, does anybody know…did Mavis and Derek live in the Peacock house prior to Fred buying it? I kind of remember Mavis twittering on about the conservatory…

  6. CAPT PAT says:

    Liz and Harry were not having sexual intercourse, it is called”nooners”.

  7. haili says:

    I seem to remember that Mavis and Derek had the conservatory built. Loved the tricks and teasing they got from Des Barnes, also the traveling gnome. Didn’t there used to be a little garden pond?

  8. Mary Prankster says:

    Does anyone know how the writing is arranged on Corrie? I only see one name at a time in the credits. Is it, in fact, a collaborative effort,like on so many North American shows? Is there some kind of record book of story-lines and character developments, with back-stories, and a continuity department,like on a movie set? I wonder, because sometimes it seems like they don’t remember what they’ve created in the past. Story-lines make unlikely shifts, or go nowhere, or become entirely implausible, or worse, characters’ characters (!!) seem to change for no apparent reason. In my experience, people’s basic natures and personality traits remain pretty constant throughout their lives (Go to a school reunion and see!), with possibly a little “mellowing”, unless some major event, or years of intense therapy causes a change. It must be difficult for the actors on Corrie when the writers cause their character’s personae to alter with no explanation.

    Just venting my frustration at some weak writing lately!

  9. Jody says:

    It was nice to have a break from the Liam/Carla/Maria mess. I luv Liz and Deidre together. I think they are fun and I’d like to have a drink with them myself.
    Michelle and Steve bore me to tears…there’s no chemistry there.

  10. fondue123 says:

    Ah the Wilton’s gnome. I find the wandering gnome ad campaign for Travelocity to be a bit of a ripoff of that whole story line, I wonder if the Corrie writers were ever credited ie paid royalties! I miss Mavis and Derek…they were typically English, imo, wouldn’t say you know what if their mouths were full…so stiff, so proper, it was hilarious.
    Re: the pond. I’m sure they had a pond, I do remember Mavis and Derek’s love of their back garden, they spent a lot of time there; unfortunately their neighbours brought down the tone of the entire neighbourhood!

  11. beanie says:

    The gnome was Arthur and he of course had a Gwinivere (sp?)Remember when Des had that HUGE boat plunked in by crane in his yard? LOL The Wiltons also had an allotment to grow veg.

  12. fondue123 says:

    I certainly remember the look on Mavis’s face when the boat arrived…I think Des just couldn’t resist winding them up. Des was never my favourite character in most ways, but his interaction with Mavis and Derek was pure gold.

  13. haili says:

    If Vera was up above listening to Jack, the horse would come in last! She never approved of his gambling.

    I always liked Des Barnes but his taste in women was lousy. I couldn’t stand Natalie or that barmaid he had the fling with when he was seeing Raquel.

    Don’t think I’ll miss Paul, though I had high hopes for his character when he first arrived.

  14. beanie says:

    I don’t read ahead but I’m hoping the house exchange doesn’t happen and it was only included to cause friction between the gals. The Peacock garden looks lovelier every time they show it. It make no sense for Clair aka Supermom to take that beautiful playground away from her two little boys. It would be more fitting of her character to fight till death to hang on to the house.

  15. kunzie says:

    I am finding the whole house-swap storyline excruciatingly boring…although I can see it’s targeted appeal to everyone who watches reality shows on the subject. And it has a funny resonance right now with housing prices in TO so tantalizing.

    I am finding Liz’s evolving morality laughable. If she stops shagging blokes as a hobby, what’s left? Bunka?

  16. Barbie says:

    Maybe the pond in Clair and Ash’s backyard was taken out when they found the unexploded bomb back there and detonated it.
    I remember all the windows in the conservatory were blown out which I wondered might account for the foundation problem.
    When I took a course a few years ago my english teacher told me that he had written for Corrie (which impressed the hell out of me) for a bit, but quit because he had so little input into it. He said that he would be given something that would say Jack walks over to Vera and says “…… ” and it was his job to fill in the blanks. I don’t imagine he very far up the food chain though, he was only there a couple of months as I recall.

  17. corrierules says:

    I actually love the episodes where nothing happens. They are filled with lovely bits of writing — sly throwaway lines, funny double acts and humorous innuendos. The old’uns get to shine and show the young’uns how it’s done. I mean, no one knows comic timing better than Blanche.

    I agree the house swap story makes absolutely no sense.
    1) the house was a gift from Fred to Ashley when he married Maxine. Is it even mortgaged?

    2) if the house swap goes through the Peacocks will be about 25K to the good. But Claire plans to re-carpet, re-paint, reno the kitchen, change the windows and change all the fixtures and fittings. 25K won’t last long. So the upshot will be they’ll blow through the 25K and be no better off financially and they’ll be living in a pokier, dingier house without a garden. So where’s the benefit? (Except for the viewers who get to see Sally at her snobbiest, social-climbing best.)

  18. beanie says:

    BRAVO CORRIE RULES!!! My sentiments as well. The Claire that we have known for years would never give up that lovely garden for her two wee boys.

  19. Joy says:

    Hilarious update, Debbie

  20. TrudyC says:

    The best part of this episode was we saw Eccles again. I don’t remember when he started liking Ken though.

  21. Modge says:

    Didn’t the Wiltons purchase the conservatory from the Malletts? I seem to remember the mother-in-law – Judy’s mother -had won the kit to build it, but they decided to sell it since the back of the houses on that side of the street didn’t get enough sun?

  22. fondue123 says:

    I’ve done a little research (my memory is not as good as it once was!). The Wiltons definitely lived at #4 Coronation St., the current address of the Peacocks.
    But I don’t remember the circumstances under which the conservatory was built; your memory of Judy Mallet’s mum and the “kit” is likely absolutely correct, Modge.
    One interesting tidbit I discovered while slogging through the webbernet, is that it wasn’t Des Barnes moving that garden gnome around at all (See faulty memory, above)…3 guesses who it really was…and it’s a character still very much on the show.

  23. eila says:

    I can’t remember who it was who took the gnome travelling, but wasn’t Des involved in a ‘plant shrinking’prank? I seem to remember Derek’s shrub getting smaller, much to the amazement of little Sarah-Lou.

    eila

  24. Barbie says:

    If memory serves me it was Norris

  25. fondue123 says:

    Barbie…you’re absolutely right! Sorry there’s no prize!!

  26. debbie says:

    BTW, Barbie, happy birthday!

    Get it, get it?

  27. Barbie says:

    Thanks Debbie
    It took me a minute
    Ken and I will have to go have a coolie.

Leave a Reply

