Update for Tuesday, March 24, 2009. I Love It When A Plan Comes Together

hannibal_smith

Steve vs. Dan: The Epic Battle Continues

We’ve reached the “The Two Towers” stage of the Tolkeinesque saga of the Landlord vs. the Bookie. I think Debbie had the right idea in last night’s update and was wise to summon it up thusly:

DAN: Gimme back my phone!

STEVE: Not until you pay for my car what you scratched!

DAN: I didn’t scratch your car.

STEVE:  Did too!

DAN:  Did not!

 VERN: You tell ’em, Steve.

MICHELLE: Oh, Steve, you’re an idiot.

HARRY: Steve, I’ll pay for the damages. Let this go.

STEVE: You suck as a dad. 

HARRY: I’m older and wiser than you so I’ll let that go but seriously, give it up.

STEVE: Nuh-UH!

DAN: Give me back my phone. 

STEVE: Come and get it.

DAN: I’ll just grab it real quickly. Sorry! I didn’t mean to punch you in the face!

STEVE: Go chase it down the cellar. 

DAN: You suck but I’ll go anyway.

STEVE: Here’s a bag of chips. I’m locking you in for the night!

DAN: Let me out! I hurt myself!

STEVE: Ha! Ha! Ha! No.

Girls Night Out

After being invited out separately by new bezzie mate Leanne and Carla, Michelle decides all three should hit the town. When they arrive at the bar, Leanne tries to tell Carla that she never slept with Paul back in her sex worker days. Carla doesn’t believe her and calls her a whore to which Leanne replies, “Golddigger” .

Michelle gets more drinks and bores Leanne and Carla with her “Oh, men! Can’t live with ’em. Can’t live without ’em” spiel. Detente is reached between Leanne and Carla when they both point out that the guy Michelle claims fancies her is gay.

Carla arrives home to find Tony Gordon unexpectedly returned from China with not so much as a “Trip cut short. See You Tuesday.” text sent to her mobile. He’s in a wheelchair, thanks to a motorcycling accident. He’s also strangely suspicious of her girl’s night out and thinks he should hire someone to keep tabs on her.

 And Now I Have the Theme to the A-Team Stuck in My Head

Taking Ken and Roy’s advice about mutual respect in a completely weird direction, Becky shows up at Jason’s doorstep. Despite previously enjoying a few cans of lager and some sitcom, he claims to have a headache. 

Becky offers to cure it but flinging off her big black overcoat to reveal her hot pink underwears. Jason doesn’t have the “back off” talk with her and they end up passed out on top of each other on the chesterfield.

Eileen arrives home to see this scene and quotes the A-Team’s John “Hannibal” Smith: “I love it when a plan comes together.”

In Other News

Audrey puts the brakes on any future employment for David and Tina at her shop and makes the case that he needs to make it in the real world. Gail, as usual, comes to his defense and asks Audrey to leave her house, even if David is more understanding about it. 

Audrey leaves but on her way out, adds that she has a little more perspective about things and soon enough, Gail will agree with her, also adding “mmmmm?” which I love.

Edited to add:

Ashley and Claire go back to Kevin and Sally and ask for the original deal of £25000 to swap houses. It’s agreed and the house swap is back on.

About shatnerian

Former Maritimer living in the suburbs of Montreal.
This entry was posted in Coronation Street Updates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Update for Tuesday, March 24, 2009. I Love It When A Plan Comes Together

  1. Pauline says:

    Now, if somebody had a look at The Cabin’s CCTV which they have inside and outside the Cabin, they’d see who it was who scratched Steve’s cab. I’m sure Norris is not going to suggest looking at the video seen as he’s the guilty one…wonder if anybody else will remember the CCTV?

  2. haili says:

    And surely a betting shop would have a CCTV too. Didn’t the builders yard have one when Charlie was there? Maybe Rita will have a look at theirs and see the real culprit.

    It’s time those writers had a meeting or did some studying of characters’ personalities. They say too many cooks spoil the broth and the same goes for writers; Steve is a laid back guy.

    I kept hoping Leanne would mention to Carla how Paul almost killed her after kidnapping her and throwing her in the trunk.

    Gail always annoys me when she treats Audrey the way she does. Audrey has kept that useless family employed for years and gets no appreciation. She said a while ago that she needs skilled help. How many sweepers and tea makers does a little salon need?

  3. Jody says:

    I think Gail needs a brain transplant. If I were Audrey I would run not walk away from that family!
    Steve is totally retarded.

  4. Modge says:

    There really is something wrong when David Platt seems to be exhibiting more maturity than most of the adults on the street.

  5. Gayle says:

    Steve is behaving like an ass! As for the discussion at dinner regarding Audrey and the salon…I agreed 100% with Audrey. As for Tina I wanted to smack her in the mouth! I know a lot of people like her but if my son’s girlfriend spoke to my Mom like that she would be the one leaving the house not my Mom. David was the most mature person at the table. David has a brain in his head, I wish he would go back to school and make a life for himself.

  6. haili says:

    I hope David has the good sense to go to hairdressing school and get a job in another salon. Tina and Gail were really nasty and rude to Audrey and Audrey needs to just get on with her life and leave them to it for awhile. It’s pretty bad when David is the most mature person at the table – other than Audrey.

    If everyone did the logical thing in soaps, I suppose there would be no stories.

  7. jeanie says:

    Good to know we all agree. Come on writers bring it om!

  8. Piper says:

    I always used to choose to watch the omnibus in the hopes of not missing any of the cbc’s deleted scenes – but now I’m thinking they are deleted there as well! I believe this scene was supposed to be in the 5th episode of the week.

    http://www.csvu.net/updates/slideshow2/series.php?ep=1957

    Did I just miss it? I thought at the time I was watching it was weird how Jerry’s recovery from surgery was skipped. Also, I noticed in the guide description that ‘Jerry thinks about making some changes’.

Leave a Reply

