Is Corrie Moving Timeslots?

Nothing to do with the usual schedule shuffle that happens during the NHL playoffs, but there is a report in the Canadian Press that our favourite show is getting a new timeslot on CBC. 

It doesn’t say when this will all happen but the plan is supposedly to start the local supper hours news shows at 5:00pm where they would now run for 90 minutes. Coronation Street would air at 6:30pm, followed by Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy at 7:00pm. 

This hasn’t been officially confirmed by CBC yet so take it with a grain of salt. I PVR Corrie so timeslots don’t mean too much to me but on the face of it, I like it. More local news is always welcome and I think there is a kind of scheduling sense in taking three of the CBC’s biggest revenue generators (Corrie and those two game shows) and grouping them all together in one block. As odd as it may seem for our public broadcaster to run American game shows, they do make money.  

But how the CBC plans to expand their local news while at the same time cutting 800 jobs is a bit of a mystery to me.

About shatnerian

Former Maritimer living in the suburbs of Montreal.
This entry was posted in CBC, schedule changes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Is Corrie Moving Timeslots?

  1. chumola says:

    I really don’t care what time they air Corrie, as long as they do air it. Like you, I’ll just record it and watch it at my convenience.

    Thankfully, we’re not missing our Corrie due to the hockey playoffs!
    Thanks, CBC!

  2. AngB says:

    The time isn’t going to change until the end of August. A long way off yet.

  3. beanie says:

    I’m with you guys JUST SHOE IT!!!! I do love that the PVR/DVR adjusts the time slot for me.

  4. beanie says:

    OOPS that was SHOW IT.

  5. John says:

    I agree. CBC has been very good about consistently running the show and managing the sometimes last minute schedule changes. We still get 5 episodes per week, plus the omnibus on Sundays with those episodes available online after the omnibus airs. So I do think the CBC is keeping viewers happy.

    It’s a time slot change – they happen from time to time. Remember when Corrie was only aired in the afternoons?

    I’m more pleased by the announcement of a 90 minute local newscast.

  6. glacia says:

    I asked my Corrie rep at CBC and she hasn’t had heard anything about the switch so it’s really not official…but she’ll let me know if there’s any word.

  7. Skeezix says:

    I’m not sure that this is a positive move for CBC local news (yes, 90 minutes is good, but is the news audience as large at 5 pm as it is at 6 pm?). As for Corrie, the earlier timeslot could mean fewer preemptions, at least in Eastern Canada (special event programs that normally preempt Corrie sometimes don’t start until 7 EST or after).

Leave a Reply

