What was Auntie Pam Doing?

Delicious! I wanna rub it all over me.

Delicious! I wanna rub it all over me.

Well, there seems to be a bit of a discussion about Pam’s plan to re-sell Pickle to neighbourhood businesses. I don’t know if Pam can guarantee the pickle is good, but I would be willing to pick up a jar.

Branston Pickle is a key ingredient in a Ploughman’s lunch, which also happens to be one of my favourite meals. Pickle is sweet and tangy and a wonderful compliment to a hunk of cheddar cheese (or hunka hunka a burnin’ love after a long day on the farm). Combine the pickle and cheese with a crust of bread, and some greens, maybe a boiled egg and a beetroot and it s a meal fit for royalty.

I have managed to locate Branston Pickle is some finer shops in Toronto. I had no luck in Montreal.

For those of you willing to try to make it at home, here is a recipe from recipezaar.com I found after some minimal internet based research:

Ingredients

* 9 ounces carrots
* 1 medium swede (rutabaga)
* 4 garlic cloves
* 4 1/2 ounces dates
* 1 medium cauliflower
* 2 onions
* 2 apples
* 2 unpeeled zucchini
* 15 sweet gherkins
* 1/2 lb dark brown sugar
* 1 teaspoon salt
* 2 fluid ounces lemon juice
* 12 fluid ounces malt vinegar
* 1 tablespoon worcestershire sauce
* 2 teaspoons mustard seeds
* 2 teaspoons ground allspice
* 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper (optional)
* 3 dashes kitchen bouquet browning sauce, for colouring

Directions
1      Cube the carrots and swede, and finely chop the garlic, dates, cauliflower, onions, apples, zucchini and gherkins.
2     Combine all the ingredients except the colouring in a large saucepan and bring to the boil; reduce the heat to a simmer.
3     Simmer until the swede is cooked through but still firm (about 1½ to 2 hours).
4     Then add the liquid colouring until the colour is dark brown.
5     Spoon into warm sterilized jars and seal.
6     Leave for at least 3 weeks to let the flavours mature.

Branston Pickle – try some today

This entry was posted in Coronation Street Updates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What was Auntie Pam Doing?

  1. kunzie says:

    Very cool to have, cheers Deb!
    I had thought that Pam was simply re-bottling pickle from the large blue tubs she won at auction from a caterer who had gone belly-up because someone found a corn plaster in some food?

  2. debbie1975 says:

    Yes, I think that is it. I will edit my post.

  3. TrudyC says:

    I too enjoy a Ploughman’s lunch. Had it a couple of times when I was in England last month.

  4. Suz says:

    Cheese and pickle sarnies. My favourite!

  5. CherylinMtl says:

    You can find Branston Pickle in several places in Montreal. The most reliable is Bramble House in Pointe Claire. They carry lots of British groceries and seasonal specialities.
    (http://www.bramblehouse.net/)

Leave a Reply

