Obscure Scottish Saying of the Day

terrortony

During last night’s episode, in which Tom has arranged the tackiest Scot-themed stag do this side of Gretna Green, the boys were given t-shirts with “Tony’s Tartan Terrors” on the front and “See You Jimmy” on the back.

The phrase, as I know it, is popular in Glasgow and generally means, “Now see here!”

See also: See You Jimmy Hats.

About shatnerian

Former Maritimer living in the suburbs of Montreal.
This entry was posted in Coronation Street Updates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Obscure Scottish Saying of the Day

  1. glacia says:

    I want one of those burgers.

    • Modge says:

      I thought they were gigantic bacon barms. Was this not at breakfast time? I had wondered about the timeline…they mentioned paintballing afterwards. Looked to me like they were having an all-day stag do. For the first time, Tom shows some personality – he certainly was making the effort.

      I don’t know about you, but a sandwich of that size might reduce my capacity for any liquid refreshment that may be forthcoming. And I’d need to be drunk to spend any amount of time with Liam.

  2. Gayle says:

    Liam is really getting on my nerves lately. What is up with him? I wish they’d get caught so this nightmare will end.

    Why would Rita actively seek out Tina as an employee. I find the girl insufferable. I have 4 teenaged nieces one the age of Tina and they don’t behave remotely like her. They go to school, work hard and are respectful to adults.

    I found the attendance at the hen do and the stag do strange to say the least why would Leeanne be there didn’t she have an affair with both Paul and Liam?

    I was really surprised to see Dev and Kirk at Tony’s?

    It is quite obvious that neither Carla or Tony have any friends.

    • Piper77 says:

      Totally agree on the random neighbours at the parties. But did you notice in one of the scenes for Carla’s hen party there was a girl with longer blonde hair that I didn’t recognize – it wasn’t Leanne as she was standing beside this ‘mystery’ woman. Did anyone else see her or was it someone I should have recognized?

      At least the factory girls weren’t at Carla’s!

    • glacia says:

      Yeah, she was the manicurist. The stags and hen party attendees are always a weird lot.

      But yeah, I thought Leanne at the hen party was totally bizarre…especially if they plan on inviting Sean, who I would suspect has a bit of hate on for her.

      • missusmac says:

        In real life, Leanne so would not have been there. But it’s Corrie land, so OF COURSE you would invite the ex-prostitute who your husband kidnapped,and threw into the trunk of his car, just before he crashed and died. And it’s only just bonus that she is both the stepdaughter of the employee you hate the most, AND she used to be shacked up with Liam. Helloooo! Perfect stagette companion!

        Can I just say that had to be the most boring hen party ever…

  3. beanie says:

    Thanks John! I didn’t get the ‘See you Jimmy’ because although I’m familiar with the phrase I’ve never seen it written.

    The link to the Jimmy Hats was freakin’ hysterical!!!!!!

    More Scots on Corrie PLEASE!!!!

  4. haili says:

    Leanne never had an affair with Paul. He called for a call girl and she showed up but left, when she was trying to make some money to buy the restaurant. I did find it odd that she was at the hen do but they began speaking again at another drunken outing with Michelle. It does seem that Carla and Tony have no friends so they make do with anyone from the street who wants to attend.

  5. John says:

    I think Liam specifically referred to Tony as “Tony No Mates” but I figured Tom did most of the inviting. Dev may have been there given that he bought a flat at Tony’s building, ergo that makes him a friend in Tony’s world.

  6. glacia says:

    But why Kirk-eh?

Leave a Reply

