Monday October 26th 2009 – The Liz Must have Had Steve When She Was 11!

UK Time – Monday January 5th Episode II


The show opens with Steve at Lloyd’s place where is building his Dutch courage to go and bin Michelle so he is free to take up with Becky. Liz must wear her perfume the way she wears her eyeliner because Steve picked up her scent right away, and after some banter and a helpful hint in the form of a set of keys Steve puts it all together and finally discovers his mom in Lloyd’s apartment.

Obviously this makes Steve freak out as he has just learned that Lloyd’s been visiting the place where he came out as a baby. Oh Steve, don’t you know that every Mothers Day needs a Mother’s night?

Totally shocked by the news, Steve heads home and can’t bring himself to breakup with Michelle because he needs to tell her about the Motherloving. Michelle reacts in an adult way, a mix of laughter and reason. Their relationship survives another night.

Sadly, over at the Cropper/Grangers, Becky is drowning her sorrows in a two-liter bottle of cider.

Happily, over at Lloyd’s flat he and Liz are going over the events of the evening. It doesn’t matter. All that matters is how they feel.

In Other News

Molly had to go to the library for access to the internet OR the common sense bank, to find out that an exploding boob is an urban myth. She tells Tyrone’s mother this fact, but their argy-bargy is interrupted when the phone rings and it seems that Molly gets some surprising news. It turns out that her father’s appendix just burst.

Joe is broker than anyone knows and has to scrounge for change to get a pint and a package of nuts. BORING!

This entry was posted in Coronation Street Updates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Monday October 26th 2009 – The Liz Must have Had Steve When She Was 11!

  1. kunzie says:

    Deb, ya made me spit soup…LMAO.

    Wikipedia (spoilers) lists Steve as 15 years old in 1989, so I guess Liz popped the twins at 16.

    My sister’s husband is 7 years younger…and I have heard no complaints over the last 14 years ;-).

  2. Frank says:

    Was kind of suprised last night to hear Lloyd refer to Liz as “tail”. Seemed to be a rather lewd term for Corrie or maybe more of a North American term.

  3. TracyEmm says:

    I could not stop laughing at the scenes with Steve Lloyd Liz! It was done really well, in my opinion. And I loved the way he burst into the back room at the Rovers and announced to Michele that they’re not going anywhere because of what Liz and Lloyd have been up to! It was such a great episode… a long time overdue for a good laugh and a bit of talented acting – Steve’s facial expressions just kill me!
    I also loved Michelle’s red dress! Wow! But Becky, as usual, looked a mess. I’ve said it before, and I’m waiting and hoping they will lighten up her image just a wee bit in the future. She’s just too trampy (even for Steve).
    What a laugh indeed – what a laugh!!!!!!

  4. missusmac says:

    Yeah, there have been a few over the tops for Corrie wordage lately. I’m pretty sure Dev said “Goddamn I love you” to Tara. Kind of surprised me.

    My favorite line of the night was Haley’s halting “Faith? In Steve? MacDonald?”

    Well, when you put it like that Haley…

  5. haili says:

    Our Steve’s been there before with Vickie and the hairdresser and he finally chose Vickie because she had money – though he seemed to be in love with the hairdresser (whose name escapes me).

    I thought Liz was 17 when she had the twins. Steve is 34 (I think) and Lloyd 44.

    • beanie says:

      Fiona was the hairdresser and the love of Steve’s life. I recall that Liz has stated she got preggers with the twins at 16 and she was 17 when they were born.

      • TracyEmm says:

        Yes and Fiona had an affair with Steves dear old Dad, hailing from Northern Ireland! Where is Jim MacDonald anyways??? I liked him in the show!

  6. margs says:

    Becky does look bedraggled doesn’t she – but Steve had her convinced she was the love of his life and then is constantly being let down.

    When I first watched Steve as a young lad be always appeared to be looking around for his “lines” so he has improved. Weren’t he and his ‘brother’ just picked up out of their school and plomped into Corrie? no acting experience. Does anyone remember?

    • beanie says:

      I totally agree Tracy. It was hilarious! Steve’s face was tooo funny and Liz ducking behind the chair. Really good laugh!

  7. margs says:

    I think I meant plopped….sorry it is late !

  8. haili says:

    I think I read that Steve and Andy had no acting experience. The MacDonalds were a family that really caught on – unlike the Windasses. Steve was like a lot of the teens when he started – always in trouble. Andy was the “good” twin usually. Maybe Steve will be like Ken and make a lifetime career out of Corrie.

  9. Natasha says:

    I was kinda wondering about the age difference between Liz and Steve last night too.

  10. Thel Haug says:

    I remember some episodes when Steve had me convinced that he really loved Karen (I know, this goes back a bit). His acting was superb. Well, as I say, he was so very convincing that since then, I can’t take his relationships seriously. No, I don’t want Karen back but it’s time Steve showed more guts and just grew up. I think he’s lost the personality that would make two atractive women (Michele and Becky) want him and his luggage.

Leave a Reply

