Very Sad News

Maggie Jones who played Blanche so beautifully has passed away.    The full story can be found here   http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/8391523.stm

She’ll be very much missed.

This entry was posted in Coronation Street Updates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Very Sad News

  1. haili says:

    That was very sad news. We’d better enjoy her work while we can.

  2. TracyEmm says:

    Very sad news indeed… I thought she was supposedly recovering well, the last I read in UK news. I just love how she portrayed Blanche; her ‘one liners’ have me in stitches of laughter all the time.
    A very sad loss to Coronation Street fans, and everyone who knew her. 😦

  3. Debbie says:

    “Skirt no bigger than a belt, too much eyeliner, and roots as dark as her soul!”

  4. corrierules says:

    I actually gasped and said “oh no!” when I read the news in the Daily mail. She was one of my favorites on Corrie. So sad — and really, 75 is young these days. A wonderful actress.

  5. fondue123 says:

    Very sad news. One of my absolute favourites on Corrie, I’ll miss her.

  6. Skeezix says:

    So sad. She was so entertaining. A loss of one of the street’s greats.

  7. beanie says:

    She can never be replaced. My thoughts and prayers are with her loved ones.

  8. corrieheart says:

    What a wonderful actor and what a great character. I heartily share the sentiments of all the previous comments.

    Some of Blanche’s lines were truly priceless. My personal favourite was when she said to her daughter: “Good looks are a curse, Deirdre. You and Kenneth should count yourselves lucky”

    She will certainly be missed.

  9. koots says:

    I was totally shocked by the news I have grown up watching coronation street and with news like this it is like losing a family member *rip*

  10. joy says:

    I echo what the others have said. A great loss. Blanche was my fave. So many memorable lines!

  11. margs says:

    She certainly had a long and successful career in British Theatre and television with no signs of slowing down…she must have felt so much satisfaction.

    I wonder if she and her sister Joan lived together?

  12. Cayenne says:

    Blanche had the best lines, such a sharp tongue! I especially enjoyed when she used it on Tracy. She will be greatly missed. R.I.P.

    (her sister was Joan Jones?!?)

  13. Gayle says:

    May she rest in peace.

  14. Nancy says:

    The street will not be the same.
    She will be missed.

  15. Betty says:

    75 IS young. Blanche was one of my fav characters. Many moments when I laughed aloud at her.

  16. Pingback: Update for Thursday, January 14, 2010: Ol’ Man River… « Corrie Canuck

Leave a Reply

