I Love a Good Book Burning, Me Update Thursday April 1

Okay so not the top story of the night, but the strangest.

Fizz has figured out a way to find out how John is doing behind bars, so she buys a card and gets Lloyd to sign it in the hopes that John won’t send it back unopened.   When Sally sees this, she has a few nasty words with Fizz on the street and continues the Fizz kvetching back in the factory, much to the annoyance of all and sundry.

Later, in a brownshirt-esque move, she lifts the book that Roy had given to Fizz and cuts it to shreds.  Her reasoning is revenge because ‘John cares more about books than he does people’ – that’ll learn ‘im!  (This being the same woman who moved mountains to get Rosie into ‘Awkhill’  because learning was the key to success.).

This move on Sally’s part for me was not just mean spirited, but really, kind of creepy.

One Flew Over the Cuculus Canorus’ Nest

Ramsey comes into the shop bearing gifts…namely a bottle of Norris’s favourite single malt scotch.  Emily and Rita think this would be lovely to share with the church cakes Emily has brought in for one and all, but Norris denies enjoying the scotch and after a few nasty words to Ramsey goes off to the back in a huff.

Rita then calls for a break and the three head over to Emily’s   house for a break and decide to dig into the cake that Emily had brought back for Norris.   When Norris arrives and finds that a) Ramsey’s in da house  b) His cake has been eaten and c) there is no room for him to do his  ‘Soodooko’ he is OUTRAGED!  Outraged enough that he wildly throws about latin and calls Ramsey a cuckoo.

Readers, it was a bit too much for the delicate nature of your correspondant, so I had to pause the PVR for a bit while I calmed down with some porridge and Austrian Christmas music.

Oh, and this Lame-o Storyline

The entire family is convinced that David arranged the break-in of Audrey’s house and he denies it completely.  He gets so wrapped up in his arguement that he slips when someone asks how he could have done this to his own grandfather, by replying, ‘Look, I didn’t even know he was going to be there!’.

Da-daaaaah!

So once again David is being shunned by the family and Tina wants nothing to do with him.

Wash, rinse, repeat.

In Other News

Tony is going to bunk at Maria’s until the baby arrives in order to make sure that she’s not alone when she goes into labour.  

Sigh.  I know he’s a bastard, but he’s so seductive when he’s all caring ‘n shit.   I can’t help myself, I’m in love with Tony Gordon.

Kevin’s got himself a new track outfit and is going running with Molly!

This entry was posted in Coronation Street Updates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to I Love a Good Book Burning, Me Update Thursday April 1

  1. parkdalian says:

    I completely agree. Tony is hot! You don’t want to like him, but he’s making it VERY difficult not to…

  2. corrierules says:

    Some thoughts:
    Just not feeling the Tony love.But he does have a rapier-like wit and he makes me laugh. But all the while I can’t help thinking that he wrote a book on “How to support a pregnant woman” chapter one would be titled “First step: How to arrange to have the father of the unborn child killed.” Just sayin…
    Rosie Webster is Vapid with a capital vee!. She reminds me of the fembots in Austin Powers.
    http://images.google.ca/images?q=fembot%20austin%20powers&oe=utf-8&client=firefox-a&rlz=1R1GGGL_enCA351CA351&um=1&ie=UTF-8&sa=N&hl=en&tab=wi

    As for Sally, I can’t believe I’m saying this, but I can see her point. Because of John Stape she didn’t know whether her daughter was alive or dead for weeks on end. It is a nightmare for any parent and I can understand why the milk of human kindness has curdled as far as Mr. Stape is concerned.
    And Fizz is waaaay to good for him.

    • Gayle says:

      I want the old Fizz back. This whiny, wheepy much thinner Fizz is not very likeable.

      I just don’t get what she sees (or has ever seen) in Stape. He gives me the creeps. He always looks like he is smirking. Ugh!

      • Long time lurker says:

        I totally agree Gayle. I do not like this version of Fizz.

        And how is Maria going to feel if/when she ever finds out about what Tony did to Liam (which, we must not forget even though she seems to have, she was convinced of just a few short months ago)?

  3. haili says:

    Agreed: Tony is the most interesting guy on the street – maybe the best character these days. Much more attractive than the mumbling Liam was.

    I can also understand Sally’s feelings much more that Fizz’s. How can she stand that man after what he’s done? It’s like an obsession now.

    We need more of the gang at the cab office and a lot less of the Platts and Windasses.

    • corrierules says:

      Obsession is a good way to describe Fizz these days “Waaah and he’s clincallllly depressed! Sob!” It’s a continous loop.
      Also agree less Platt more cab office.

  4. lovethestreet says:

    At the risk of confirming that I have, indeed, turned into my mother…is Rosie missing a button on that blouse of hers?

  5. blueheadlights says:

    Lovethestreet – hahahahaha! yes, yes she is.

    I am also deeply in love with Tony. I’m tolerant of murder when it comes in that charming package!

    • Mark Daye says:

      “I’m tolerant of murder when it comes in that charming package!”

      Gets my vote for most disturbing comment of the day! LOL.(I have to agree with you though).

  6. Mary Prankster says:

    Do some of you people not see the humorous incongruity here? You wonder how Fizz can overlook John Stape’s horrendous past with the annoying Rosie, while ignoring Tony’s vicious, evil behaviour and finding him charming and attractive. That seductiveness is precisely what makes him so dangerous.
    Fizz’whining lack of self-esteem is irritating me too, (as is Sally’s over-the-top response) but you are demonstrating how people can delude themselves where emotions are involved. Back to Maya Angelou’s advice: “When someone shows you who they are, BELIEVE IT!”
    (Btw, is there something in the water in that part of northern England? Why is there only one decent, intelligent man in that whole area- and he appears to suffer from Asperger’s Syndrome?!

  7. haili says:

    You are right of course, but that doesn’t stop me from enjoying Tony and being creeped out by John. Also, people on Corrie don’t know about Tony as they haven’t seen his evil behaviour, but they do know about John. Fizz is a smart girl and should know better.

    I guess soap characters would be boring if they were all decent and intelligent. The other decent man seems to be Ted. Kevin seems to be decent but is now taking quite an interest in Molly. Maybe his wandering eye has taken over again.

    Then there was Martin who was really a decent person until he started having affairs and wound up with the nauseating Katy.

    • missusmac says:

      If John looked a bit more like Tony, it would be easier to not be creeped out. (The though of John ironing shirtless doesn;t work for me!) And obviously that’s why people get sucked in by charming killers~

      What I love about Corrie is that even decent people do rotten things given the chance at something they long wanted, and that in any given week I can hate a character one day, and feel sorry for them the next. (Michelle, Tony, Dev, Ken…)

  8. Gayle says:

    I’m not a fan of Kevin. To me he is always scouwling and doesn’t have a whole lot of class. I don’t like the way he is looking at Molly.

    • missusmac says:

      I love Kevin. I think he’s funny, smarter than people think, a guy who truly loves his family, is mad loyal to them. All he wants is a simple life, some of that love back, but both Sally and Rosie treat him like he’s stupid and annoying. I see a mid-life crisis coming on. His snark at Jason came after Sally said although Jas was stupid, he was fit.

  9. When I saw Tony standing there at Maria’s ironing his shirt, with his bare chest and biceps hanging out….I could feel a severe hot flash coming on!! Whew!

  10. beanie says:

    LMAO last night. Mr.Bean wondered when Rosie grew those boobs. I told him that Papa Smurf had been reporting on those ‘Jubblies’ for a while now.

  11. Mark Daye says:

    Great post!

    I like Tony Gordon too, but I still think this is all part of his getting revenge on Liam, even though Liam is now dead.
    Notice his sopa operal stares whenever dopey Maria mentions St. Liam?

  12. iamsaraline says:

    I think that Tony’s being nice to Maria out of guilt, not for revenge. He’s definitely scoring some hottie points!

  13. haili says:

    Tony may still be jealous of Liam since Liam’s sainthood and wondering if he can ever really be rid of him.

    As for Kevin, I still remember his affair with the nasty Natalie. Sally was actually fairly nice up until then; but since then her morals have declined and so has their marriage.

  14. John says:

    I had to laugh when John Stape told Rosie, “Inside you, there is a bright young girl with her whole life ahead of her.” Or something to that effect.

    Oh, John. Rosie smothered that bright young girl to death with her massive cleavage a long, long time ago.

    I do like Rosie as a character in that she’s become quite ridiculous. She’s just funny. Yeah, sure, John. She’s going to wisely invest that money to ensure she gets the maximum use out of it. Right after she spend half of it on some car.

    • John says:

      Okay, I just realized. Rosie Webster is Ja’mie King from “Summer Heights High”!

      [YOUTUBE=”http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tr-Usynqkec&feature=related”]

  15. TracyEmm says:

    I can’t stand Rosie! So much so, that despite what she’s been thru (kidnapping) — I don’t think she deserves 1 penny from John’s Grandmother. I was practically yelling at the tv “change your mind! change your mind! tell that tart to get lost and thank her for reminding you what a bimbo she really is!” If he really wants to do something good with the money, he should give it to a charity that helps find missing children – that would be more fitting!
    The actress who plays Rosie, does her best acting when she is walking along the street! I have to laugh at her when I watch her walk and stand!

    • Barbee says:

      I missed the whole conversation – when did John mention his grandmother? Didn’t the omni end when Rosie jiggled her way into the visiting room? (Oh right, I didn’t watch last night – duh) However, I also think Rosie is a scheming, self-centred, selfish trollop and if my daughter looked and behaved as she does, I’d have her out of my house in an instant (especially when she has a job). I can understand Sally’s hatred of John – he is a creepy kidnapper, but I also think part of that hatred stems from his rejection of her advances.

  16. calliope says:

    …dumb question….didn’t Michelle AND her son live with Maria? I’m assuming they each had their own room, so WHY is Tony sleeping on the couch?

    Don’t get me wrong, loved the Scottish shirtless shot, but that boy sure could use a tan.

    • Barbee says:

      I was wondering exactly the same thing. We’re always seeing folks sleep on the couch, even when it’s a love seat. And then other times, so many people are crammed in these 2 bedroom terrace houses, it’s crazy (think Eileen or the Battersby house).
      I was ironing in my green chenille robe when my eyes popped at Tony’s abs. Tan or not, I’d love to be as fit as he is.

  17. glacia says:

    I liked Rosie back in the day when she was vegan goth gal; back she seemed somewhat smart and didn’t have a lot of lines to say.

    Now, however, we get to see just HOW bad of an actress Helen Flanagan is.

    As far as Sally goes, I agree with her anger, I’m just creeped out by her destroying the book, it seemed so weird and anti-intellectual. Mainly because there ARE a lot of books I like more than people.

    • John says:

      I have to wonder what Craig would think of her if he were to ever come back from Berlin.

      But I don’t know if Helen Flanagan is a bad actress or if she’s just playing a character who is an over-the-top, self-absorbed, comically horrible person.

      At least, I think it’s supposed to be comical.

  18. glacia says:

    On behalf of my pasty brethren…PALE IS THE NEW TAN!

  19. Barbee says:

    And by the way – I own a spurtle! Tony can show me how to stir my porridge any day.

    • parkdalian says:

      Never have I wanted porridge more…

    • Mary Prankster says:

      I too own a spurtle (spirtle?) -given to me by my aunts, of Scottish heritage. (We played a game for awhile, trying to stump each other with obscure kitchen utensils!) Since I started doing my porridge in the microwave I don’t use it anymore. I know that seems like blasphemy to “parritch” purists, but I can’t taste the difference!

      • Barbee says:

        I use the microwave, too. My sister thinks it’s gross, but I love it. The spi(u)rtle is great from stirring spaghetti as it cooks, among other things.

  20. eps says:

    I’ve always thought Kevin rather dull although
    attractive. I can see why Sally is bored. As I father, can he not object a bit more strongly to his daughter’s personation of an East Enders harlot? Perhaps he is too preoccupied with Molly

    loved Jason’s reply about not having a go with mate’s wife

    John has been the only educated, professional
    fellow to give Fiz the time of day

  21. haili says:

    But how many educated, professional fellows do you meet in the Rovers – apart from Ken that is?

    • eps says:

      Haili,
      Hadn’t really thought about it but you are right. Sad but very true. Different here in the US, Canada, too, perhaps. One could have a PhD barista, a MSW bartender, etc.
      As an émigré from the Grand Ol’ Opry might say, ” In the Rovers ain’t got nothin’ but Slim Pickens”.

  22. beanie says:

    I forgot about the spurtle LOL. I’m Scottish but I’ve never heard of it. Fabulous word for a Scottish accent though.

  23. Mandy says:

    If we’re talking about hot men on Coronation Street right NOW, I’d have to say Peter is the hottest. But in the past, Liam takes the cake! He was soooooo hot. Jamie was not at all my type. Too pretty-boy-trying-to-look-rough. Something about Jason just turns me off, too much of a fake-tanning look to him. Maybe that’s his natural skin colour but he looks like he spends all day at the beach, lol!

    I personally think Kevin is VERY dashing and charming!!

    • Barbee says:

      This conversation could get interesting. Right now, Tony is the tops for me. I thought Liam had a singular lack of character and mumbled, but was cute in a high school hunk kind of way. Jason is gorgeous. But they’re all too young. I’ve always liked Kevin, but his lack of parental reasoning where Rosie is concerned is just sad – I agree with eps.
      Where’s a mid-50s guy, in good shape, laugh lines and all? Oh yeah, that was Danny Baldwin!

      • missusmac says:

        LOVED Danny! For me, with age not factored in, the best lookin guy on the street has been the cop investigating Gary Windass’ non-burglary. I do hope he gets to be a regular feature!

      • Mandy says:

        I friggin love Danny Baldwin too!!

      • corrierules says:

        Oh my giddy aunt…. Danny! Sigh…

  24. haili says:

    Danny Baldwin, Tony, Jason, Peter – all great. Steve for his sense of humour. Liam was a boring mumbler IMO. I hear that Kieran is coming back but I didn’t care for him after he put the moves on Shelley.

  25. Mandy says:

    I never thought Kiaran was hot, something fishy (not suspicious but fish-like) about his face, lol!

    Liam did mumble but I can’t help it… he was just so damn fine!!!!

  26. glacia says:

    Glacia runs past screaming, ‘Charlie Stubbs!’ and legs it down the street and around the corner before anyone can lecture her over the fact that Charlie’s bastardness outweighed any hotness factor.

    • corrierules says:

      Glacia, have you been hanging around Fizz? Talk about bad boyfriend material. Next thing you know you’ll be telling us you have the hots for Jesse James!

    • parkdalian says:

      Charlie never really did it for me. Too smug, not enough charm. But Danny, now that was a different story…

  27. haili says:

    Charlie Stubbs was such an obvious bastard, with no sophistication that I must say “How could you glacia?!” Are you drinking? A lot?

Leave a Reply

