Monday May 17th 2010 – the Current Storylines Kinda Suck Upate

UK Time – Monday July 27th 2009 – episode II

The show opens at the Platt residence. Gail is doing something idiotic on the couch while David puppet masters her life into oblivion and Joe numbs himself to the treasures of daily life with Gail and her nutter offspring.

A little bit later David is lounging on the couch watching TV when Joe comes down the stairs looking for his fix. David tells Joe that the pills will cost £50, which Joe hands over. However, later Joe gets husseled out of more money as David claims that the drugs will cost £100.00.

While all this is going down Tina is over at Eileen’s place laughing over Jason’s participation in an all-gay soccer team. I guess this is funny, but gay people play soccer too.

Anyway, a wee bit later Jason and Tina go over the expenses for number 12 and reality hits hard when they see how much the kitchen. Girl, mamma knows! Tina decides that perhaps it is a good idea to talk to her dad to see if there is anything he can do to help.

Basically they want Joe to fit the kitchen for free, which I think is a great idea as long as Joe doesn’t have to pay for the materials. What else are dads for? Joe agrees to help and assures the couple that he won’t tell David that they’ve got a place together. Yeah, because it is important to keep David from understanding that Tina has her own life.

Kevin is obviously feeling some pent-up aggression. He goes into the Kabin to complain that he didn’t get his Mechanics Monthly. He had some sort of conversation with Norris, but to be honest, since subscription marketing is what I do for a living, I am always a little perplexed as to how magazine subscriptions are delivered on Coronation Street and how that model developed.

As it turns out the magazine went to the Windass house and Eddie is drooling over the centre spread. That dude is a loser. Kevin tries to get his magazine back. I think he would have had more success if he just told Eddie that it was his magazine rather than be super aggressive about it. The magazine ended up in tatters.

Over at Fiz and Chezney’s place the two are having a bit of a domestic because Fiz will be spending Chezney’s birthday in the big house with john. Bad move, Fiz. Chezney asks her for some money so he can go out for his birthday, but gets the knock back from Fiz.  He is unimpressed.

A bit later on Sian and Sopghie claim poverty when he asks to borrow some cash to go bowling. Chezney takes out his feelings of dejection on Eddie Windass by throwing an empty pop can at him.

At home, Fiz come back with a take-away and Chezney is so nasty to her, she throws the dinner away.  How are these two gonna mend fences?

While I used to call Tony Gordon  “the widow maker” now I call him “the peace maker.” In the pub he manages to apologize to Helen for threatening her. Although, to be honest, she is so irritating, judgmental and delusional, that I really hoped that Tony would arrange for a lovely car to come careening around the corner in her specific direction. The only thing that is making this better is the fact that I have totally forgotten about what happened to Michelle. I have no idea why she isn’t on the show and I don’t care.

Anyway, Tony buys her forgiveness with a drink and they all head back to Maria’s to make nice. While over there Tony goes to put the kettle on and Helen compliments the couch. Although, we all know that Helen would have preferred for Maria to live in the house sealed up like a tomb as a memory to her son. Not, the one that killed her daughter’s husband and then attempt to kill a sex worker, the other one.

Maria and Tony go upstairs to give the baby a bath (odd) and Helen continues to go on about Tony. Seriously, at this rate, I forgive him for killing Liam.

In Other News

Claire is all excited about the football camp she found for Josh. Ashley wonders if Claire isn’t doing a bit too much since she is just out of the hospital. Sorry, I just fell asleep.

Becky and Steve have set a date. Maybe Liz will come back for the wedding.

This entry was posted in Coronation Street Updates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Monday May 17th 2010 – the Current Storylines Kinda Suck Upate

  1. haili says:

    Amen, ditto and snap! Don’t care where Michelle is (on tour) just happy she’s gone. A lovely car speeding around the corner at Mama Conner sounds good. Her sons were no saints but she thinks they were. I’m liking Tony better than either of them.

    I thought Andy would have been Steve’s best man but maybe he’s been there – done that enough.

    Joe and the Platts are getting tired but I did enjoy David throwing the pill bottle on the fire and I know that’s sick.

  2. Gayle says:

    I thought Maria asking Tony to help her bathe the baby quite odd.

    Sorry, but she is really getting on my nerves she is very needy and whiney. I know she lost her husband but doesn’t seem to be bonding with her baby at all.

    Some relatives of mine – one a young teen who used to really like the show has quit watching all together.

    I hope things pick up soon – I’m finding more fault with the show than I ever have before and I have been a loyal fan for over twenty years.

    Perhaps some new characters are needed and maybe cutting some of the dead wood.

    • lovethestreet says:

      Reasons to keep watching:
      Tony’s accent
      Rita cutting Norris down to size
      any scene with Graeme in it

      …but I agree that the show is in a bit of a slump lately. Other than the Barlows at the AA meeting, recent episodes have been rather dull. I miss the banter in the cab office and the bitchin’ in the factory!

    • js says:

      I completely agree. Glad I’m not alone in feeling this way. Seeing a few episodes awaiting me on the PVR used to be a thrill…now it feels like a chore to keep up!

  3. Bea says:

    Fizz should have been a bit more sensitive to Chez on his birthday. ;o(

    I can’t believe Maria’s MIL being so deluded about her sons. I hope Tony kills her! I really do! I can’t help it.

    • Mark Daye says:

      Graeme and Tony are awesome.

      Maria needs to die a painfully slow death so she can whine the entire time and we can count how many times she says ‘LIam’.
      If Kevin and googly Molly do it, I’m gonna poke my own eyes out with a copy of Mechanics Monthly. Man, they are so gross.

      • Bea says:

        I thought they already did it. (on the staircase – with a mechanic)
        When Molly faked a headache at Sally’s birthday party and went home early. Then Kev came over to “check the books” if you know what I mean?

      • missusmac says:

        Yeah, pretty sure they did it, and where every woman dreams of doing it… on the staircase in the front hall… NOT!

  4. Beanie says:

    Debbie, I could never have summed all that up the way that you did. I’m still laughing!!!

  5. haili says:

    It was really out of character for Fizz to go out on Chesney’s birthday and no wonder he’s cranky. The poor kid just got a pair of shoes that don’t fit, no cake, just blah – except for those 2 girls at the door.

    • Bea says:

      I can’t understand, if Chez has a paper route, and also washes cars for Kev, then why does Chez have to ask Fiz for spending money?

  6. missusmac says:

    Wow, Joe must be really in addicted need to trust David! Ches becoming a typical teen is unsettling. Such a nice young man before Stape…

  7. Mark Daye says:

    That’s right. I forgot. Okay goodbye eyes… now where did I put that Mechanics Monthly?

    • Bea says:

      When Molly kicked her dress into the corner with that super high heeled shoe, all I remember is thinking, hey what great shoes!

  8. Barbie says:

    OK, so Kevin and Molly finally do it and then she and Tyrone leave on holiday. I think she is going to come back pregnant and not know which one is the father because as we all know DNA testing is non-existant on Coronation Street.

Leave a Reply

