Tuesday July 6, 2010 – The Sound Went Off Halfway Through Update


Apparently this heatwave in Ontario and Quebec is already having dire consequences. Halfway through the show, the sound switched off. No, I wasn’t sitting on the mute button.

Here’s what I think happened:

Molvin:

Molly made Kevin late for his flight by hiding the clock and his watch during their little nooner. Then, on the way back, the van broke down. They eventually got back but Sally was very cross with him. Then Molly and Tyrone had a fight of some kind, not sure why.

Jack had his last regular pint in the Rovers as he left with Vera’s ashes to live with Connie in her giant house. This marks the character’s semi-retirement. I understand he will be back from time to time.

The Post-Funeral Piss Up

Blanche feels speeches at funerals are the exclusive domain the clergy but Emily disagrees. Blanche wonders about her own funeral which, sadly, we all know is coming sooner rather later.

“Not one to complain and always ready with a smile,” is what Norris thinks they’ll say about him.

Then Rita got drunk and they all piled into Emily’s for more tea and booze.

The New Telly

Eileen is glum about her telly having been stolen so Lloyd comes up with a cunning plan. He gets Steve and Claire to make a show of donating their crappiest non-working entertainment equipment to Eileen. She’s less than thrilled until they come back with a brand new flatscreen with a nice bow around it.

Hey everyone, my TV was stolen. Well, it wasn’t stolen per se, but it’s old. Care to chip in for a new one for me?

And as I’m currently melting, I think I’ll just end it here.

About shatnerian

Former Maritimer living in the suburbs of Montreal.
This entry was posted in Coronation Street Updates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Tuesday July 6, 2010 – The Sound Went Off Halfway Through Update

  1. Beanie says:

    Thanks John, I admire your commitment. It’s smokin’ hot in Niagara too. I was happy to see tonight’s show. I had a weak moment(read bored) last week and looked ahead. This is NOT a spoiler LOL. Anyway I didn’t break my pledge to NEVER go to the UK site BUT I skipped ahead on the DVR to see what was coming up here. Today’s info said Tyrone is pissed at Molly because she is late for Jack’s funeral. I had smoke coming out of my ears!!!! How could the writers do that to us? We all expected Jack (Bill) to retire but give us some hope. WHEW!!!! They made an error. I hereby solemnly swear that I will NEVER look ahead even locally ever again.

    • Robin says:

      I did the same thing too!! I usually never look at the listing description so was shocked when I read about Jack’s ‘funeral’. Unfortunately, unlike you, I did look ahead to see what was going on because I was so shocked at the false description ! 😦

    • Terri says:

      It said that on my tv info as well (Sask Tel MAX). I knew Jack wasn’t dead, so I wasn’t too worried. Well, a little, but not much!

  2. haili says:

    John: Molly was nasty to Tyrone after Jack left and accused him of checking up on her all the time. Ya da ya da. Tyrone finally yelled up the stairs that Jack won’t be the only one leaving if she continues with the crap (or words to that effect).

    The good news is that if Kevin and Sal are on holiday, we won’t see Molvin for a week or 2.

    • Long time lurker says:

      “Molvin” – too funny. Hate the couple; love the name!
      And yes, the minute Jack was out of the house, Molly just turned on Tyrone for no good reason other than her own guilty feelings.

      • John says:

        Can’t claim “Molvin” as my own I’m afraid. The first I saw it was on the excellent Coronation Street Updates blog (which contains spoilers, natch). But it’s a brilliant name as it’s as about as sexy a name as the pairing which inspired.

  3. missusmac says:

    Molly always struck me as a sensible girl at least, not cunning. WHY would she ignore the time? She has as much to lose as Kevin, which I was glad Kevin pointed out.

    I did look ahead, I am ashamed to say. Youtube, Coronation Street, a tempting combination. Oooh, there’s some good stuff coming to the street.

  4. Trudy says:

    Thank goodness were are Molvin free for 2 weeks. I was just thinking when I was riding in on the bus to work this morning – where are Tony and Maria? Did they go to Ireland? I can’t for the life of me remember. Sorry having an Oldtimers minute.

    Did I say how much I love, love, love Simon?

    Second time that we’ve heard Blanche talking about her funeral – I’m loving her every minute I can get now.

    • Barbie says:

      I’m pretty sure Maria is on mat leave, so we probably won’t see her for a while. Last thing I remember, Tony moved in so I guess they’re just blissfully happy behind closed doors.

    • Long time lurker says:

      Blanche’s funeral talk did bring a tear to my eye as do her times with Peter and Simon. I love that they’re showing how much she really cares about the two of them.

  5. Trudy says:

    Oh, one more thing. When Tyrone asked Jack if he had Vera and he said yes in the bag here and it was a Fresco’s bag. A fitting tribute to Vera’s years of service at Freshco’s.

  6. Gayle says:

    I thought Eileen and Jesse were rather rude to Lloyd, Steve and Claire. At least Sean showed some manners.

    As a matter of fact I seem to be finding Eileen mean to people more often than not.

    Certainly will not miss the Molly and Kevin nonsense. I really wish they would get caught so it will end.

    • missusmac says:

      I found Jesse to be really rude and off the wall, telling Eileen obviously these people have a low opinion of her, etc. Actually, they’ve known her way longer than you have and have given her more than a stupid parrot and a mother complex, Jesse…

      I wish Eileen would get a ‘real’ man, and not a cartoon character. If only Dennis could come back from the dead!

      • haili says:

        I was surprised at Eileen and Jesse’s rudeness. Even the old stuff was better than nothing as a temporary measure. Jesse was really out of line IMO, criticizing her friends like he did.

        Dennis would be better for Janice as they were an item when he died – but Eileen does deserve better.

  7. Jody says:

    I have a feeling Tyrone might figure out about Molvin. Remember when Molly called Tyrone on her cell and Kevin started up the trucks engine? Tyrone asked what was that noise. I just got the feeling when he starts up that engine at work and hears the same noise that he might put two and two together….of course maybe not cause he is Tyrone.

Leave a Reply

