The Road to Coronation Street

Tonight in the UK, BBC4 aired a TV movie called The Road to Coronation Street. The film details how series creator Tony Warren managed to create a nightly drama about the lives of working class people in the north of England. It was a major struggle as he had to fight a lot of preconceived notions about what people would watch. In addition, he had to fight being confused with Jude Law. It looks fascinating, although I’m not sure why a show about ITV’s flagship programme would air on their competition but there it is.

I’ve no idea when or if it will air in Canada or the US, maybe the nice CBC folk who read this site could see what they can do about that. 🙂 It also seems like the thing that would show up on a Sunday night on TVO or PBS.

By the way, in the clip above, you might notice the one guy without an English accent. That would be Harry Elton, our Canadian connection. He was the producer who gave the green light to Tony Warren to create the show.

About shatnerian

Former Maritimer living in the suburbs of Montreal.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Road to Coronation Street

  1. haili says:

    That reminds me of when I first saw Corrie. The grubby, pokey little street and people who weren’t doctors, lawyers or millionaires were so different from American soaps I kept tuning in. I think it was only on a couple of times a week back then but the characters were great. Ena, Martha and Minnie were like 3 witches who knew everyone’s business. Elsie Tanner was great and Ken was current with his Vietnam protests, etc. I hope the CBC runs it here sometime.

  2. Jody says:

    I’ve been watching Corrie since I was a kid as my mother watched it too. I am almost as old as Corrie…I was born in January 1961. Loved that clip!

  3. Bea says:

    If they started showing Corrie from the beginning, I would be there. ;o)

  4. bookwoman says:

    I hope that either the CBC or PBS starts showing it here. I was born in 58 so I can never remember not watching Corrie.

  5. Robin says:

    Did anyone catch the actor who currently plays Jesse in one of the scenes?

  6. Tvor says:

    I downloaded it and it was superb! Daran Little was the only person that could have written it and done such justice to it.
    There were a few former-corrie actors in it in addition to John Thompson (Jesse). Harry Elton’s secretary used to be blonde bombshell barmaid Tina in the early 90s and the director had a brief part as a nasty ex-husband of that Samantha barmaid that used to be so orange all the time. Also, the lady that played the tea lady/cleaner is the mum of Antony Cotton (Sean)

Leave a Reply

