CBC Loves Us – Nightly Double Episodes Coming in September

Today, the CBC is unveiling its 2011-12 prime time television season. While there are a number of shows which look interesting to me, the news item that was of most interest to us Corrie Canucks is the announcement that beginning in September, CBC will be running back-to-back episodes of Coronation Street every weeknight. You can read the announcement here.

I don’t know how long they’ll be doing it or how long it takes to get caught up to the UK broadcast but it’s something that fans have been demanding for years now so this is pretty great news.

 

 

About shatnerian

Former Maritimer living in the suburbs of Montreal.
This entry was posted in CBC, schedule changes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to CBC Loves Us – Nightly Double Episodes Coming in September

  1. beanie says:

    That is beyond cool!!!!!!! It is ridiculous how far behind we are.

  2. Mary Prankster says:

    When you consider that we’re currently about 9 and a half months behind, then doubling up should take us at least a whole TV season to almost catch up -perhaps just in time for the hockey playoffs next spring.

  3. eps says:

    Wow! We are so far behind that will go on for most of the year, maybe longer, I reckon. Do you think they will still run the Sunday omni? That would make it 5 hours long. Whew, I see marathons in my future. Of course, when I have to be out of town I will miss twice as much. Maybe it is time to consider at least exploring the purchase of a DVR. Any brand suggestions?
    Great news.

    • beanie says:

      A DVR is sooooo worth it. Even I Corrie has a rather last minute time change it still picks it up and records.

    • Gayle says:

      Beanie, I got mine through my cable co. they sent us a letter indicating we could have the use of one for a year with no additional fees! After a few teething problems we are good to go! We are with Cogeco (if that helps). It is so easy to use. It comes in very handy for me because I am also an Emmerdale fan and it airs the same time as Corrie.

      Good luck! Hope you enjoy it!

    • chumola says:

      Beanie, that’s what we did too. Bell had a big promotion and our rental is free for 2 years. It really is easy to learn, and it will record even if the network changes the time of the broadcast. I love it!

  4. Mary Prankster says:

    Thanks for the news, John. I just sent a thank you note to the CBC website. We must encourage them & let them know we appreciate their listening to us viewers, even though I suspect this decision has more to do with their slashed budget than with concern for us.

    • corrie heart says:

      Hi all,

      Great news about Corrie this fall. Thanks to John for the heads-up (now if only they had Star Trek re-runs too…) Regarding eps’ question about the Sunday omnibus, I read on one source that the Sunday Corrie omnibus is scheduled to run from 7.30am until noon! Not sure if this is accurate but if it’s true that’s going to require at least two or three pots of tea and a whole box of chocolate digestive biscuits.

      best to all..

      • eps says:

        At least I can rely on them having more than enough commercials to allow for sufficient time for breaks to deal with all that tea.

  5. haili says:

    I don’t want to rain on anyone’s parade but maybe they’ll just run the special anniversary shows for the hour

  6. suzanne says:

    Hooray!!!! They did this once before but only for a short time. I hope this time, they continue it until we catch up.

  7. Trudy says:

    OMG – my day is now off to an excellent start!! Maybe I can start reading more Corrie blogs – I always avoid them because of spoilers.

  8. Diane (tvor) says:

    Excellent news! Even if they do it from September to May or June we’ll get caught up considerably. I’m happy with any catch up!

  9. Jody says:

    Oh fantastic news!!

  10. Suzie says:

    YAY!!!! My mother and I always wish the show was an hour long! This is great news to catch up with Britian!

Leave a Reply

