I Spy for the FBI

Tonight, Lloyd, who is moving into Number 13 with T’Cheryl, announced his intentions to display his Northern Soul record collection. T’Cheryl objected, siting the tattered sleeves of his vintage records. One record Lloyd mentioned was “I Spy For the FBI” by Luther Ingram. So I had to go Google the tune. Good song.

And that 0% credit card you got, T’Cheryl? Yeah, that’s gonna bite you in the bum real fast.

So who here figured James was bad ‘un all along? Good luck getting that twenty grand back, Sophie.

About shatnerian

Former Maritimer living in the suburbs of Montreal.
This entry was posted in Coronation Street Updates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I Spy for the FBI

  1. margaret says:

    James is absolutely bad to the bone. What a con! He played Sophie.

  2. Gayle says:

    I didn’t trust James at the get go. To quote my late Grandma “he’s too sweet to be wholesome”.

    • beanie says:

      I didn’t trust him either. I thought Sophie was being recruited by a cult.

    • haili says:

      Gayle: was your grandma Irish? That was a saying my uncle used.

      I wasn’t sure about James but was waiting to see what happened. His father seemed so judgmental but maybe he had a point – and some bad experiences with James. Homophobia may not have been the biggest reason for their conflicts.

      I felt sorry for Fizz when she gave up that cute baby but it’s a lot to ask of the Croppers to take her for who knows how long. She must have alibis for some of the goings on with John as she was giving birth at the time Charlotte got whacked and in hospital a lot with Hope. Let’s hope her attorney pulls his finger out and does something for a change. And how about the police solving a case instead of arresting innocent people?

  3. Gayle says:

    Haili, actually my Grandma was of Scottish decent.

    Are the police even looking for John?

    Wouldn’t it be nice if Becky made herself useful while staying at Roy and Hayley’s and helped take care of the baby?

  4. missusmac says:

    Fizz still has a lot of ‘splaining to do. I hope things go smoothly for her, and this is not drug on and on. And wow, Ken doesn’t have the best offspring in the world, does he? Here’s hoping Simon stays on track!

  5. eps says:

    Gee, I must not have been paying attention at all. I thought it was that couple (can’t remember the names, saw them once at the soup kitchen, think they were talking to James about the program/house that James, Sophie and Sian went to view) that absconded with the money rather than James. How disappointing.

    I loved Roy’s line Wed. night after Chesney smashed the pastry in Norris’ face: (some amount) for the coffee, I won’t charge you for the cake”.

    • long time lurker says:

      Don’t feel bad eps – I got totally taken in as well. I did not see that whole thing with James coming. Then again, with all the Corrie murder and mayhem we should have expected it.

  6. haili says:

    I wonder if it’s common practice in England to steal toast off people’s plates. I don’t know how often we’ve seen that scene but Kylie snatching toast of Gail’s plate happened this week. Do the writers see it as some kind of insider joke? I’ve never seen that here unless it was some kid trying to provoke a sibling.

  7. lovethestreet says:

    Does anyone else feel like there are a disproportionate number of bad ‘uns on the street these days? Where is this generations’ answer to Emily Bishop? That’s what I want to know!

  8. haili says:

    I know. You can’t even trust the “Christians” like Sophie! And everyone seems to be a thief these days.

  9. eps says:

    lovethestreet, I completely agree. The writers seem be a collection of one-note players for the most part. There is the occasional flash from someone like Roy, but THAT has become the aberrant behavior rather than the antics of J Stapes, Becky, etc. A balance is much more enjoyable.

  10. MaryEllyn says:

    I suspected James from the time he left the girls alone in charge of the kitchen, and it turned out that he said it wasn’t locked up properly… that didn’t seem right.
    again, I agree that the writers seem to hit one note: LOUD and aberrant. I’d also like to see more consistency and character development.

Leave a Reply

