My Two Dads (And Mum)

The thing about watching Corrie in Canada is that we’re removed from all the show-biz gossip that would surround the show if we watched in the UK. For that reason, I don’t always take note of the actors’ personal lives. I didn’t know that until recently, Samia Ghadie (formerly Smith), who plays Maria recently left her husband and is now dating the guy who plays Chris. Who knew? Not me, obviously.

I read the Guardian on a regular basis but I’ve only just recently come across this column. It’s written by Charlie Condou, who plays Marcus on Corrie, and is currently helping Sean take care of Dylan, albeit temporarily. The column chronicles his own real life experiences as a gay dad sharing parenting duties with his partner and the female friend who carried their two children. He comes off as a pretty down to earth guy who deals with the same issues as any parent.

There’s nothing like bringing real authenticity to a role.

About shatnerian

Former Maritimer living in the suburbs of Montreal.
This entry was posted in Coronation Street Updates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Two Dads (And Mum)

  1. haili says:

    The characters seem real when you don’t know much about the actors. Some want to meet them and get autographs etc. but ignorance is bliss IMO.

  2. Mary Prankster says:

    My aunt used to say “Don’t tell me about the personal lives of the people whose performances I enjoy. Too often it spoils it for me.” As I’ve gotten older & learned about the clay feet of people I’d admired, I tend to agree with her.
    Also, I have enough trouble accepting actors in different roles than the ones I’ve grown used to. In the case of the British actors from the north of England, it’s such a relatively small talent pool that they pop up in new places all the time. I don’t need to know their real personalities too. That would be just too confusing!

    • John says:

      I was shocked that William Roache isn’t really a left-wing intellectual in real life. I like to pretend that the actors are actually versions of their characters. It’s silly, of course, but that’s what I like to think.

Leave a Reply

