I know I said no updates but I had to share this

As you know, William Roache is touring Canada, giving a talk on his experiences as Ken Barlow in Coronation. Today in his travels, he took some time to meet Prime Minister Stephen Harper. It turns out Harper wrote a letter to the cast during the show’s 50th anniversary and counts himself among the Canadian fan base (so perhaps in the next federal budget he won’t be too hard on the CBC if he wants to keep watching the show).

But now I’m at that awkward moment when I realize that I have something in common with Stephen Harper. I may have to rethink my life.

About shatnerian

Former Maritimer living in the suburbs of Montreal.
This entry was posted in Coronation Street Updates and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I know I said no updates but I had to share this

  1. corrierules says:

    I went to see William Roache last night in Ottawa.I didn’t know what to expect. It was a very pleasant evening. He talked about his upbringing, his stint in the army and how he became an actor and landed the role of Ken. After intermission he took questions from the audience. He was charming, funny, and gracious. They had to throw us out of the theatre because the show went on longer than was planned. But it seemed he would have been happy to keep chatting with us all night. It’s truly hard to believe he will celebrate his 80th birthday next month. He carried himself like a man in his sixties.

    • John says:

      I would have loved to have seen the show as he does sound like a charming guy (and a bit of an eccentric, from what I’ve read in the always trustworthy tabloids 😉 ). But alas, no stops in Montreal. Oh, well. I’ll just have to make that trip to Manchester one of these days.

    • John says:

      By the way, I’d love to hear from anyone else who’s been to the shows.

      On 16 March 2012 22:06, John Hansen wrote:

      > I would have loved to have seen the show as he does sound like a charming > guy (and a bit of an eccentric, from what I’ve read in the always > trustworthy tabloids 😉 ). But alas, no stops in Montreal. Oh, well. I’ll > just have to make that trip to Manchester one of these days. > >

      • corrierules says:

        And I’m going to see “tales from the street” on the 24th. I have no shame. I rationalize it by saying its cheaper than going to Manchester. 🙂

  2. Mary Prankster says:

    Stephen Harper & us. Yikes!

  3. haili says:

    Yikes is right! Even the queen watches Corrie.

  4. Long Time Lurker says:

    Actually this makes Stevie seem a bit more human.

  5. Deborah says:

    We were at the Toronto show on Saturday and had a fabulous time. I’ve written all about it and posted photos on my webpage:

    http://www.deborahscorriepage.weebly.com/photos-william-roache-2012-toronto.html

  6. Long Time Lurker says:

    Back to current Corrie – Is Sally one of the stupidest women on the Street, going to dinner with Frank in her “glad rags”? Will Sally soon be the next in the list of Frank’s “misunderstandings”?

  7. haili says:

    Is Peter the stupidest man, or is it Carl? They both have addictions. I can’t figure out why Peter is Carla’s sponsor when it causes so much marital strife. Of course they’re going to have an affair; it’s mandatory. And why didn’t he just say no to making a speech?

    And why oh why do we have so much Sophie and Sain lately. Borrrring!

    • barbee says:

      Haili, you are so right. I like how complex Carla is, but I really am tiring of this sexual tension between her and Peter. She’s toxic for him in so many ways, and Leanne is so much a better partner for him. It’s good to see the writing include the aftermath of the tram crash, especially for Peter. There was some criticism that he seemed unscathed a while back, but he clearly is not.
      And Sally continues in her foolish ways.

Leave a Reply

