Quick Monday Update: Christmas, Part 2

Becky burns down the flat.

Izzy and Gary back together.

Peter gives Carla her Christmas goose.

Sylvia on the Uke-Banjo.

We’re simply having a wonderful Christmastime.

Too bad poor Leslie won’t remember it.

About shatnerian

Former Maritimer living in the suburbs of Montreal.
This entry was posted in Coronation Street Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Quick Monday Update: Christmas, Part 2

  1. haili says:

    John: thanks for my morning laugh!

  2. Long Time Lurker says:

    Is there any part of Corrie Street that hasn’t burned down or otherwise been destroyed? What amazes me is how quickly these places are re-built. Here in Toronto just getting past the red-tape and getting the permits to re-build would take a year or so.

    Boy is Steve going to feel so stupid when the truth about Tracy comes out – probably a day after their wedding… And will Ken leave Dierdre when the truth comes out?

    • Bea says:

      I’m surprised at Deidre. She usually can’t keep anything to herself. Her usual is to tell Ken, then Ken gets all high and mighty and tells on her.

      I guess you are right, it will probably come out at or just after the wedding.

  3. Mary Prankster says:

    Dierdre has repeated several times that the strongest love is that of a parent for a child. She’s said a parent will do anything for her child. Lately it’s become a mantra! She takes “unconditional love” to whole new level. I think the flaw in that belief is proved by Tracy. How many times has Dierdre had to keep one of Tracy’s terrible secrets? When will Dierdre admit that her daughter is selfish to the point of evil, and keeping silent is only compounding the problem? -I’m not holding my breath!

  4. corrierules says:

    OMG. The tweets are hilarious 🙂

  5. juders says:

    did anyone else think the Minister looked like Les Battersby??

  6. haili says:

    I suppose he looked like a distant relative of Les. The shrieking was getting me down and I just wanted it to end! Thank goodness Sian is gone…now if only Sophie would move far, far away – like the south pole.

  7. Gayle says:

    I agree I find Sophie extremely tiresome and now she’s quit her (half-assed) job! I don’t think it would be much of a loss. I’m sure the customers would be glad. I certainly wouldn’t shop there with moody Sophie, sarcastic Amber and mouthy Dev ugh!

  8. Long Time Lurker says:

    Eew … Sally and Frank…. creepy on so many levels…just makes my skin crawl.

    Is new-factory-woman-Beth Cilla’s younger sister? I swear she’s a Cilla clone.

    • John says:

      I gotta say I like Beth. She’s like Cilla with a mood transplant.

      Glad I put my false tooth in today!

      • MDKNI says:

        I’m only a few episodes behind now. I also like Beth! My google of “does beth looks like cilla?” brought me to this blog.

  9. Wild Rover says:

    Isn’t Beth the former girlfriend Steve invited to the Bistro to make Becky jealous?

    P.S. I’ve been reading the updates and comments on Corrie Canuck for a while now and thought it might be time to join in. It seems like a friendly place.

  10. Mary Prankster says:

    A heads up – hockey playoffs Corrie schedule changes – starting next Wednesday.

    http://www.cbc.ca/contact/announcements/

    • John says:

      Thanks for the update. Not only is the schedule changing but the episodes are being reduced to 1/2 hour every day. We’re currently 3 months behind so I guess the catch up won’t be complete (or near enough) until September now.

      I had assumed that the hour daily shows would continue through the playoffs as they’d move the show to the afternoons or something.

      After June 10, the show will (I assume) return to the one hour episodes until we’re caught up.

      Still three months behind is pretty good.

      • Mary Prankster says:

        I suspected the CBC would sacrifice Corrie time for hockey time. After all, Corrie viewers are loyal, but hockey fans are…well…fanatic! I was here in Vancouver during last June’s disaster. Vancouver police are now saying their deployment will be “more robust” this time around. -‘Ya think?!
        The CBC reporters had only to look out their windows to cover that story. Good thing, considering they have no money for anything now, thanks to our budget-conscious federal government’s slash & burn tactics. I guess they get upset at having to pay for the reporting of their mismanagement of the country. Sorry, politics keep creeping in! Don’t get me started on the oil pipeline!

  11. corrierules says:

    Thanks for the head’s up Mary Prankster! I think prefer half hour per day. Makes it more special.

    Happy holidays to all! 🙂

  12. wilhelminathethird says:

    I have been reading and enjoying for a long time. I want to thank John for this site so it appears that I must join the 21st century.

    John, I truly appreciate your hard work. I hope this commendation reaches you.

    Regards,
    Wilhelmina

  13. S. Poole says:

    Yes, Beth is a hoot, the street needs more of her antics, especially stories of her days with Steve, and Eileen needs a mate.

    Sally was summed up perfectly a few years back by Kevin, he called her Hyacinthe, so fitting.

    Love how Frank has suddenly become the very definition of a gentleman, the poor misunderstood soul.

    The police in Manchester seem a great bunch, makes the stereotyped good old boys in the southern US with their staged speed traps look civil.

  14. wilhelminathethird says:

    Happy Easter all. I have been following this website and the comments for a long time. I think that I have finally figured out how to post a comment (fingers crossed, eyes crossed). I have enjoyed reading all and want to thank you very much John for all your time. Yay Corrie – the best soap in the whole world!

    • Long Time Lurker says:

      Wilhemina – Welcome to both you and Wild Rover, who also seems to have joined us this weekend.
      I totally agree – this is such a wonderful website and it’s so great to be able to share Corrie thoughts.
      And kudos to John for keeping this together for all of us.

  15. lovethestreet says:

    Loving the interaction between Becky and Sylvia!

  16. Long Time Lurker says:

    I’m quite enjoying the 1/2 hour Corrie again – it’s short and sweet and leaves you wanting more.

Leave a Reply

