That Time Corrie Canuck Took a Hiatus

So in a few months, I’m getting married. I have major planning to do. 

I’m also in the middle of a major project at my job which is eating up a lot of my time. 

And, of course, there are my duties as a dad and husband-to-be. 

The fact is, I’m a bit swamped at the moment and something has to give and that something is going to be watching and writing about a television show. 

So I’m taking a break from the updates. I may get the odd tweet in now and again but I can’t promise anything.

In the meantime, I’d like to direct you to Bluenose Corrie Blog. Tvor and Tiddsmom have been providing Canadians with Corrie updates longer than we have hear at Corrie Canuck. It’s updated almost every day and offers more than just recaps. They really are the best Canadian-based Corrie blog. 

I hope to be back after the summer.  

About shatnerian

Former Maritimer living in the suburbs of Montreal.
This entry was posted in Coronation Street Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to That Time Corrie Canuck Took a Hiatus

  1. Mary Prankster says:

    John -Sorry to lose you and this place for conversation about our shared obsession! I hope you can make it back when your life settles down a bit. You will be missed! In the meantime, congratulations! I hope it’s everything you want.

  2. Karen K says:

    We’ll miss you but you have to take care of business! I would have been so proud if my husband had made a couple of sacrifices when “we” were planning our big day. I hope she appreciates you! Good luck with everything, have a great summer and “see” you back here in the fall, mister.

  3. lovethestreet says:

    Well, I have to question your priorities (LOL), but I so appreciate all the updates you’ve given us. Congratulations on your up-coming marriage, and all the other good things in your life. Very best wishes.

  4. Trudy says:

    Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for the updates.

  5. haili says:

    Best wishes and thanks from me too!

  6. Wild Rover says:

    Best wishes and thanks for everything!

  7. Long Time Lurker says:

    John – thank you for all the updating over these many years/months. And many good wishes to you both on your upcoming wedding. And I can totally understand when life just becomes too busy and something has to give – it’s just a reality of our lives these days.

    To everyone – I will miss you all – sharing all of these conversations about Corrie has been great!

    • lovethestreet says:

      LTL ( I think this is what our American friend, Milton, would call you), I’ll miss everyone too. These postings and conversations about the Street have been a delight.

  8. corrierules says:

    We’ll miss you and this wonderful forum.Thanks for all your hard work. Best wishes on your marriage. Mazel Tov!

  9. Diane (tvor) says:

    Congratulations and thanks for the nod to the Bluenose blog! we do a sunday recap every week. I’m just back off my vacation so it’ll start up again this weekend.

  10. Barbie says:

    Congratulations John, and thanks.

  11. Gayle says:

    John I’ll miss your updates but would like to take this opportunity to wish you and your bride all the happiness in the world!

  12. missusmac says:

    John, you have made me laugh every time I have visited this site. Thank you for that, and I sincerely hope you come back to share your joy and laughs again. Congratulations on your upcoming wedding, and good luck!

  13. eps says:

    John, I add my appreciation and good wishes.

    Community, can we continue to communicate via this site or Bluenose?

  14. missusmac says:

    i immediately checked out the Bluenose blog, and noted some comments there. Shall we meet up there, and check this site as well? (Yeah, I’m just a tad into Corrie…)

    • lovethestreet says:

      Sounds good to me. Where do you find the comments on the Bluenose blog? — I had one quick look, but didn’t really figure out how to navigate the site…

    • Long Time Lurker says:

      Thanks for doing that missusmac. For sure I’ll move over there for commenting if we can make comments on that blog. Hope it will work out for all of us.

  15. eps says:

    At which section of Bluenose shall we consolidate comments? I think each section has a place for comments, e.g. Sunday Update for (date), Weekly Awards and Lines of the Week, etc. The word “comments” is written in very small blue letters at the end of a section. The Sunday Updates are quite informative and the Awards/quotes funny. I’ll be checking back here to see if we have consensus (spelling?).
    I would really miss folks’ pithy comments.

  16. Mary Prankster says:

    It seems to me that to comment after the weekly update would be most similar to what we’ve been doing here. I don’t know how the regulars at the site, not to mention the bloggers, will feel about this sudden influx of chatty strangers, but hopefully our common love of the show will carry the day.

  17. barbee says:

    I’ve been keeping up with both this site and Bluenose for a long time, and comment fairly infrequently. Because Bluenose is linked to, and updated from, a real-time UK version, there aren’t usually a lot of comments. I think adding the comments of this witty and dedicated group will be a great addition to an already fantastic blog.
    But I, too, will certainly miss the wonderful humour of John and the other former contributors. The number of times I’ve almost ruined my keyboard with tea, well…….you know how it is!

  18. eps says:

    Barbee, I agree 100% (why do people say 110% – or more?)
    Because of CBC’s west coast CS schedule during hockey I have been limited to the omni – comments always entertain between Sundays.
    See y’all at weekly updates on Bluenose. I will, of course, be checking here now and again as I wouldn’t want to miss any updates here from John when he returns or any of the others.

    • Long Time Lurker says:

      Sounds like a very good plan to me; including the part about checking back on CC to see if/when John returns.

  19. Mary Prankster says:

    Warning! The CBC’s coverage of the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee events may interfere with the Corrie Sunday (June3rd) omnibus, as well as Monday and Tuesday’s regular showing. Check your local listings!

    • eps says:

      Mary Prankster, I just signed on to say the same thing. The crawling info on last week’s omni from CBC Vancouver said that this Sunday, 3. June the omni will be on at 10am rather than the usual 7am for those of us watching in the west.

  20. Barbie says:

    I haven’t seen any familiar names in the comments on Bluenose yet. Are you guys posting?

  21. eps says:

    I’ve tried to leave a comment 3 times with no success. Haven’t seen any familiar names in the Sunday Update comment section so I may not be the only one finding it difficult.

    • Mary Prankster says:

      I’ve left a couple of comments, using the “Anonymous” signature. The only hard part is that darn “Prove you’re not a robot” routine, which involves going half-blind, trying to read the letters!

      • eps says:

        HA! Glad to know who “Anonymous” is with whom TVOR has been exchanging comments. I am so relieved that I am not the only one finding that particular “not an automaton” almost impossible to read. I won’t even admit how long it took me to realize that the numbers were the first “word”. They are, aren’t they? Maybe that is my problem posting.

      • fondue123 says:

        I’ve also posted a couple of times to Bluenose, using Anonymous. Just couldn’t figure out how to use my own handle…

  22. eps says:

    Help! I cannot figure out how to leave a comment at Bluenose. When I click on “comment” I go to some Google Blogger profile page. Previously that happened after I wrote a comment, did the non-robot thing, clicked enter and then went to the %&#* Google blogger page. Gee, C Canuck is so very much more user friendly relative to comments/interactions.

    • Wild Rover says:

      To comment at Bluenose, you have to choose an identity (the options are below the ‘prove you are not a robot’). You can choose anonymous or a name, but if you don’t choose something else, it will automatically default to Google Account.
      Hope this helps, if you hadn’t already figured it out.

  23. Bea says:

    I really miss the updates, and I hope they continue some day. ;o-

  24. eps says:

    Bea, I know what you mean. There is no replacement out there for our Corrie Canuck. The Facebook page for American Corrie watchers is nothing more than spoiler central – most of the folks watch CS via Youtube or other providers and are on the UK schedule. Sigh… Bluenose is quite informative. I do sincerely hope that things are going very well for John and his family. I check here periodically to see if there is any word. Mild summer so far here in the Pacific NW. That is a bright spot.

Leave a Reply

