My Black Cab Departure

Many, many years ago, I moved to Montreal to live with my girlfriend (whom I would later marry). She got me hooked on Coronation Street.

Being an internet nerd, I needed a place to obsess over my latest TV show.

I found a number of blogs, like the UK based Coronation Street Weekly Updates and the Canada-based Downeast Corrie Blogger. But it was Corrie Canuck, back when it was on Blogspot, that I spent the most time on commenting. Eventually, that lead to an invitation from Glacia, the blog’s founder, to contribute updates and whatever tickled my fancy.

Over the years, more and more of the contributors stopped posting as much but, for whatever reason, I kept it going.

Eventually, I figured out that my ability and desire to watch two and a half hours of TV a week, then write about it, was on the wane. And to be honest, so is my interest in the show, at least in the obsessive detail it used to be.

And that’s a shame because I actually think the show has come much more down to Earth with Stuart Blackburn at the helm. There aren’t the big crime stories they used to do and the stories are more human.

I’ll probably stick with the show until Hayley’s departure (which is absolutely gripping) and the Christmas and New Year’s episodes but after that, I’ll probably follow the to’ing and fro’ing via the blogs and whenever I catch it on CBC. And I’ll tweet the odd thing now and again.

I may still post the odd thing here and there but for now, I’m sorry to say the updates are coming to an end. I appreciate all you commenters and everything you’ve written here. I hope you understand my reasons for stepping back.

Ta for now.

About shatnerian

Former Maritimer living in the suburbs of Montreal.
This entry was posted in Coronation Street Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to My Black Cab Departure

  1. corrierules says:

    🙂 Thanks for all the great posts and wishing you all the best. You will be missed.

  2. misspimms says:

    Oh the end of an era. Totally understand of course. You’re a brilliant writer and I’ll miss your wit.

  3. lovethestreet says:

    Thanks for all the posts. It’s been fun.

  4. S. Poole says:

    Ta but not goodbye! You summed it up well, will miss this place a lot but enjoyed the ride.

    And yes I agree, Corrie is starting to bounce back. Tonight as Roy explained being captivated by Deep Purple playing with the Royal Philharmonic and Hayley grooving on Queen, the best scene in ages. Blimey, there was a tear in the eye too.

    Take care, friend.

  5. S. Poole says:

    P.S. Best use of GIFs ever.

  6. Wild Rover says:

    Thanks for all your great posts, they’ve really added to my enjoyment of the show!

    One thing you can always count on with Corrie: leaving in a black cab leaves the door open for a return. Perhaps one day we’ll see a cab pull up on the cobbles, the door opens and a shapely leg ending in a stiletto-shod foot appears (a la Liz MacD) and…

    All the best!

  7. Mary Prankster says:

    I certainly understand your reasons for this decision (including, though here unmentioned, fatherhood’s demands) but, selfishly, I’m sorry to lose your take on our obsession. I learned about other things, especially related music, drama & current topics, from your observations & your amazing choices of GIFs, and I got a lot of laughs from your humorous comments. I hope you’ll find the time and the interest to return in some regular capacity in future. Know you were appreciated and will be missed.

  8. Bea says:

    Nooooooooo!

  9. barbee says:

    I kind of got the impression this was coming. Your wit, knowledge and talent will be missed. I do understand, as I have had a few times (very few, actually) when it seemed like work to watch the show and my interest waned. At those times, I certainly couldn’t have found the energy to write about it every day.
    However, we all seem to agree that the current Roy and Hailey storyline is gripping and I am sure inspiring a lot of discussion about end of life, cancer and leaving the love of one’s life. I am glad the show is tackling real issues, including the above mentioned, as well as bullying and abuse. One can only hope the writers figure out that we all want Tracy to truly pay for her sins, ongoing as they are. And thank heavens for Deidre!

  10. Mare on my phone says:

    Aw, ta John.
    You’re always welcome to come over and watch Corrine chez moi. Bring the fam. I’ll have biscuits.

  11. Mare on my phone says:

    Corrine = corrie obvi. Am on phone.

  12. eps says:

    Gee, it seems like every time I go out of town something happens. I will sorely miss Corrie Canuck. Not knowing any other Corrie fans this community has added greatly to my viewing pleasure. I have noticed over the past couple of years the decrease in contributors (remember Kuzi -no idea re: the spelling of the name – writing an entire update in verse?) and have wanted to ask about it but didn’t know the online etiquette. I have been so appreciative that you have continued carrying the flag, John. Thank you
    For fellow CC members: you may want to check out American Corrie Fans on Face Book. Most folks seem to follow via Hulu which is very close to the CBC schedule. Certainly ACF is not exclusive to Americans like CC welcomed so many of us from the States.
    I’ll miss the CC updates and reading the comments. The best to all of you – especially you, John

  13. lovethestreet says:

    …BIG sigh…I do miss our get-togethers on this site…Thank you for all the work you’ve put in, John, and really and truly I understand your “retirement”, but I came to be so fond of this on-line community and enjoyed our chats enormously!

Leave a Reply

